Scene from an Apartment (liquid emulsion)

As if Monday’s aren’t crazy enough, right?

Sometimes being thick skulled is a good thing – like when… uh… what was it I was going to say again? My memory just isn’t what it used to be, and I have no idea why. Anyway, this is another image I made in one of my college photo classes. Good times! I think. From what I can remember of them, anyway.

About this image: Ilford 35mm film – printed with liquid emulsion on three 4″x6″ canvas panels .

35 thoughts on “Scene from an Apartment (liquid emulsion)

  1. This one was fun to pose for, but I have to admit I was a little afraid I might fall over and pierce your skull with my heel! Glad we survived unmaimed!

    I really like the composition and contrast. It’s extra cool with the canvas texture too.

    Plus my foot looks sexy! :P

    • I just wish I would have fixed that one panel a bit longer! And/or sized them better first so I didn’t have to worry about the emulsion sliding off – boo!

      It was a bit of a challenge jumping up off the floor, running to the camera and back, then getting reset before the timer went off! Talk about cardio! :)

        • This was one of my favorite pieces from my photography classes, S.E…
          Unfortunately I was so worried about the emulsion sliding off the canvas I skimped a bit on the fixer… which was a very unfortunate decision, because the far right panel has started to deteriorate noticeably. Happily I have them scanned in at a very high resolution, anyway… so at least the ‘picture’ of the pictures is safe. And, of course I still have the negative… so if I ever find my way into a dark room again I guess I can always re-print. :)

    • It might have something to do with the temper-tantrums I’ve started throwing recently. I’m not above that sort of thing, you know. LALALA! LOOK AT ME! LALALA! :)

        • Annabelle looked at most of my cartoons before I posted them, too (which is probably closer to the real reason she comments more here).

          Hmmm… maybe your wife will comment someday, Bearman… maybe she will someday. :)

      • Reasons I comment more here: 1) I’m usually more involved with the production of the photos (since I’m often the model, or at least present when the photos are taken) so I feel like I have a better idea of what to say/contribute and 2) since I’m no longer teaching art I have a lot more time to enjoy things like this. I always intended to comment more on Spilled Ink and Sub Blot but then things just had a tendency to get away from me, and before I knew it a new one would be posted. But life is much improved since then so here I am! Commenting away! :P

    • Honestly, my memory is so bad I have a fond feeling whenever I can remember… well… anything, really.

      Thank you, sir – I appreciate that very much! :)

    • Sometimes I’ll surf around looking at other people’s work, and I was very impressed by your blog – amazing stuff!

      Thank you very much, D.F. – that is very kind of you! :)

Leave a Reply

