Pour

Is it hot in here, or is it just molten metal?  This was one of my alma mater’s annual sculpture department bronze pours. It was a fun process to watch – and to try  photograph. Needless to say, my pour images were rather… poor images.  So I threw everything but the kitchen sink at this one (although sink tossing might have made for some interesting performance art).

About this image: Digital photograph of pour (center) combined with 35mm film scan of fish-eye camera/lens (perimeter) – both highly modified.

17 thoughts on “Pour

  1. Cool, I mean, hot photo. It brought to mind W. Eugene Smith’s ‘Pittsburgh Project’ photos of the 1950s. So what’s your alma mater? (Your under no obligation to answer if you like your anonymity).

    • I have to admit I had not heard of those, but some quick research has proved Smith had some crazy interesting stuff – I’ll definitely have to look into it further!

      Fair enough question, sir – I have a lowly BA in Art (not even a BFA), but it’s from a school with a tremendously talented faculty – Fontbonne University in St. Louis, MO

  2. I don’t know why but the 1st thing that came to mind was molten ear wax. I’ve never seen or heard of earwax in a molten state before. I guess you could mold it into earwax candles. Nice photo

    • Have you ever seen the show Mythbusters? They actually made an earwax candle – I would tell you more about that episode, except that it makes me kinda’ sick just thinking about it! :)

Leave a Reply

