Poe (in progress)

It’s been a while since I posted a drawing, so here’s a look at Eddie. I drew him as part of a mixed media author series. This drawing’s done, and the piece itself is about 95 percent finished (which means I should have the whole thing complete in about a decade or so).

Raven: “Knock knock!”

Poe: “Who is there?”

Raven: “Orange…”

Poe: “Are you serious? Come back when you’ve got some decent material, dude!”

About this image: charcoal drawing on Bristol Board

59 thoughts on “Poe (in progress)

    • Thank you, sir!
      I will do so – if I can ever get those last few pieces finished…
      (I have 2 other pieces in this series that are at about the same level of ‘completeness’ as well… :)

  1. How come everything is always in a state of being finished. Can’t you control your ADD long enough to finish one thing before moving on to the next?

  2. Wow! I agree with Kieran, when I first saw this I thought, why’s he posting a photo of Poe? Good job. I can’t draw to save my life. I probably make stick figures look awful haha.

  3. He looks like he’s just read one of my blog posts and wants to slap me. Don’t worry Spilled Ink Guy, I’ve promised to take him out for a drink! He’s already drunk your stash :)

    • Thank you very much, C.O.R.! That is very kind of you!
      Hahaha… my wife actually has a crow Halloween decoration that sounds fairly similar (not sure it’s stuffed), but it is fairly convincing from a distance! :)

    • Thanks so much, B.D. – that is very kind of you!
      The problem I have with reading is that I’m SO slow… it’s pathetic, honestly.
      It’s a bit of a problem. But I’ve started to work on it… :)

    • That’s uber kind of you, F.S. Darn it… I have no idea how to get that special character in here. Please don’t laugh at my ‘u’.
      You really should! I can tell from the amazing work you have done with graphite that you would absolutely love it! The mess / keeping stuff clean is the worst part, but it’s hard to beat for getting nice, solid tones (I think, anyway)! :)

  4. We toured Poe’s house back in Philly – the guide was worth the trip alone. Talk about a character! Anyway, this is a fantastic drawing, Inky. Truly, your talent knows no bounds.

    • That sounds like a very interesting tour! I might even sneak out of the apartment for something like that!
      And your kindness knows no bounds… thank you so much, Dishy! :)

  5. I haven’t read Poe in a while, but he always fascinated me! Wonderful drawing- WONDERFUL!!! I am sure you will finish it in 9 1/2 years… BE POSITIVE!!

    • To tell you the truth I haven’t either, Juana… probably because I’m such a SLOW reader (it’s sad, really)!
      Hahaha… well, I could TRY for 9 1/2… doesn’t sound like much time, though! :)

    • It’s all about the eyes, U.M.
      And YES! How awesome is that?! I may or may not have worn one myself once (during a parade / my very brief stint as a ‘percussionist’). Neither stylish, nor functional. That’s how I roll. Or not :)

  6. Pingback: Twain (in progress) « Refrigerator Magnate

Leave a Reply

