Of Difficulties…

Annabelle and I are in the final stages of closing our store. We have most everything moved, but we  still have lots of cleaning to do, etc. Also, we only had internet access at said failed store (and I’m unsure how long it will take to move that to our apartment). All 400 sq feet of which is full-o-store stuff. And is very uninspiring… so, yeah.

I apologize if I miss a few days of comments in the near future… I briefly considered scheduling posts in advance, but I’m not going to do that. If I’m not available to visit, what’s the point?

Anyway, I’ll be back (hopefully sooner than later). Please hang-in there with me… I sincerely appreciate your continued kindness… you’re the ‘bestest’ readers out there!

About this image: digital photograph, lightly modified

68 thoughts on “Of Difficulties…

  1. Oh, SIG, I’m sorry things are difficult for you two right now. I hope it passes quickly. Sending good thoughts and wishes to you both. X X That’s a beautifully poignant image, by the way.

    • Thank you very much, S.E. – you are always so kind!
      Yeah, these things happen from time to time… all you can do is learn from the experience and move on to something new. :)

  2. Why had I thought you were relocating? The Pollyanna in me — or her cousin Denial.

    There’s another adventure waiting for you and Annabelle. Here’s to the new adventure – wherever it may lead.

    P.S. I like the sentimental nature of the picture.

    • Sorry about that… I think I was pretty cryptic in my description… I’m not always great with ‘the words’ you know!
      Thanks very much, Ms. D. – that is very kind of you to say! :)

  3. You’d alluded to this earlier, I think, but I guess I didn’t want to believe it. I love this photo, Inky, it’s sad and lovely all at once. I’m so sorry the shop is closing. I wish you were closer so I could have brought the girls to visit weekly, or encouraged you and Annabelle to open classes, or something to show my support. You must be having a lot of mixed emotions now, both of you. Please know that whatever the future holds, I for one will be rooting you both on. And eagerly awaiting your next work of art.

    So I will end with – Here’s to the next step of life. You never know what’s around the corner.

    • I always appreciate your kind comments, Dishy – you have always been wonderfully supportive, thank you so much!

      Yeah, in many ways it’s a very tough thing… but it was very stressful at times, too… (mixed emotions as you say) so live and learn, I guess! On to more… random… stuff! :)

  4. hey, i know what it’s like to be in transition. in limbo. i’m like that too right now. SUCKS.

    and if it makes you feel better, i never get around to responding to my comments. Eh, people get over it ;

  5. Sorry to hear you’re closing your store, but honestly, between the two of you have a great deal of talent and sooner or later will find some way to make some money with it. Probably a lot of money. I think your stuff is very salable, if you can find the right way to market it.

    • Thanks very much, Binky!
      Yeah, and in all honesty it’s not entirely a money-thing, either… I have so much fun just making stuff (and sharing it). It’s a sick compulsion, really… so I doubt I’ll ever be able to give it up entirely… :)

  6. Oh, Robert, my heart sank when I read this post. I know what it is to close a business- simply awful and so discouraging. I had a nervous breakdown after mine, and that’s when I decided I needed a change and came to the U.S. .
    You have so much talent, it just doesn’t make sense, but the COST of the store is what made you close… NOT YOUR AMAZING MERCHANDISE.

    I will be here praying for you and Annabelle, and waiting for you to come back because I NEED to read your posts. You make me smile all the time…
    Thank you and God bless you.

    • Yeah, it’s pretty heart-breaking, still… this stuff just happens from time to time. I think it would have been worse to have never tried than to have tried and failed (although in hindsight we probably should have waited for the economic climate to improve considerably before jumping into something like this).

      You are always so kind, Juana – thank you very much – you always make me smile, too! :)

  7. Hi SIG! Sad to hear about the closure of your store. I can relate with what your are going through because I am going through a similar transition. I hope things get better for you soon and look forward to the day when you can visit our blogs again!

    • I am sorry to hear that… I hope that things work out for you as well. These little transitions can be very stressful… change can be very difficult. I sincerely hope you come out better than you went in… you really deserve it, sir! :)

  8. Lovely photograph. Hoping something good is waiting for you around the corner. As an old guy, some advice – don’t let successful old guys get you down. There are too many of us – the last of the boomers – who worked hard, but didn’t face serious obstacles in reaching their goals. They think life is a golden level playing field and when things don’t work out, it is a personal character flaw rather than circumstance. So good luck, hold on to your creativity and hold on even tighter to your spouse.

    • I’m always happy to hear of others’ success… the boomers worked very hard and deserve to be rewarded for their efforts. It’s not their fault things are a bit rough right now, and their having less success wouldn’t make me feel the least bit better. I feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to give this thing a shot… many people are not fortunate to have such a wonderful chance.
      Thank you very much, sir – your kind comments are very much appreciated! :)

  9. Sorry to hear your store closure Robert. Hope things improve for you guys soon. Does this mean you will have time for Spilled Ink Cartoons again??? I loved your toons & humour in them.

    • Thank you, Tony!
      I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed my cartoons… I think they’ll still be on hold for a while. I’m going to keep plugging away on this blog, though. That being said I might have to slow the pace down a bit… I think I need a nap. :)

    • Oh no, M.P. – I’m very, very sorry to hear that. Sounds like we are in a similar situation (the not knowing is the worst part I think). Please hang in there – you do amazing work, and I know that will pay off for you (hopefully much sooner than later)! :)

  10. Dear Ink Man…sorry to hear about your store…it’s a sad time and rather disheartening…You have each other, so, press forward…until you are back again, I bid you peace…

  11. Bummer dude. If only you weren’t ‘To Big to Fail.’ It happened to me and the closure pushed me to a different life path which turned out much better in the long run. All the best.

  12. Oh no! So sorry to hear this. We’ve been so close to losing our business in this last year+ so I can appreciate the whole gamut of emotions you will have been going through. At our very *worst* times I reminded my husband that we are both currently healthy and that we have each other – ultimately that is all that matters. I tend to be a bit hippy philosophical too in that sometimes things don’t work out as we’d like or had planned, but that is usually because it simply wasn’t meant for us. I agree with those above who have said that there is something else for you and that a door will open to a new horizon and new goals. Wishing you all the best …

    • Thank you so very much for your kindness, Jayne – I appreciate that so much!

      Yeah, it’s a bit tough… but that’s how it goes, I guess. You just never know. But as you’ve said, I’m very thankful for what we have, and the opportunities that we have had. Just have to keep looking for the next one… that’s life.

      Thank you again, Jayne – very much! :)

  13. hey S.I.G! everyone’s right, you are too talented to be down for long. i really hope that things will work out for you both in the near future.

    also a big thank you for your infectious energy and encouragements!

    • Thank you so very much, COR…
      that is very kind of you. I am hopeful we’ll figure something out… that’s just how things go, I guess.

      Not at all – it’s not difficult to find complimentary things to say about your work… you do an amazing job! :)

Leave a Reply

