Take a Right at the Motherwell…

Why, it’s gallery 338 in the St. Louis Art Museum. Looking into gallery 337. You know… just in case anyone was curious. Have a great weekend, everyone!

Will Hunting: “You paint that?”

Sean Maguire: “Yeah. You paint?”

Will Hunting: “Nuh-uh.

Sean Maguire: “Do you sculpt?”

Will Hunting: “No.”

Sean Maguire: ” Like art? Do you like music?”

Will Hunting: “It’s a real piece of s**t.”

Sean Maguire: “Oh. Well, tell me what you really think.”

- Matt Damon & Robin Williams – Good Will Hunting

About this image: digital photograph, moderately modified

70 thoughts on “Take a Right at the Motherwell…

    • Thank you, Ms. F!
      It took a few attempts because while I normally don’t mind rolling around on the ground to look through the viewfinder I decided it might be best to forgo that practice this time. :)

    • This museum allows photography as long as you don’t use flash and aren’t in a gallery that has a ‘special / featured’ exhibit. I’m not sure if this is a common practice, or not, though. :)

    • Thank you very much, Katie!
      It’s a really cool building and they are adding on at the moment, too – I can’t wait to see the new space (it looks like it will be very contemporary – I’m interested to see how they get the two styles to ‘mesh’…)! :)

  1. I love this photo! The shadows of the people are wonderful. I also like the lines on the hardwood floors. Nicely done, SIG. (Do you ever tire of hearing ‘nice done’? I type it all the time!)

    • I could never tire of your great kindness, Ms. D…
      thank you so much!
      (It’s a great building – and they’re building a huge expansion – which will be cool – although things are a bit torn up at the moment…) :)

  2. Yes I like this one SIG
    and I also enjoyed that
    excellent film also :)

    Have a wicked build up
    to the New Year 2012 :)

    Androgoth

    • Thank you so much for your kind comment (as always), sir!
      I do like that film quite a bit (I still watch it every now and then)!

      Thank you, again, A.G.! And the very best to you in 2012 (and beyond) as well, sir! :)

  3. Excellent execution and effective use of dramatic line and perspective. I almost missed the shadowy ghosts of the art critics. It certainly is a very grounded composition.

    • Thank you very much, Ms. A!
      I tend to be pretty shaky (especially in low-light conditions), so I thought the floor might help me out a bit (and provide a more unusual vantage point, too)! :)

  4. Aaaaahhh!!! I feel like I am at your end looking at that gallery and I love it!
    Museums make me happy- no matter what kind, and this photo made my heart sing! Thank you!

    • That is so kind of you to say, Juana – thank you!
      We are very fortunate to have some very nice museums in town (and many of them are very close to where we live, too). AND most things are ‘free’, too, which is always nice! :)

  5. Hey, now, I always get in trouble when I try to take photos in art galleries. You must have a stealth camera. Or an invisibility cloak.

    Hope you have a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

