Cat’s Head Point

Cat’s Head Point was quiet…. surprisingly… quiet…

Charlie Kelly: “Hello! Charlie Kelly here… local business man and cat enthusiast. Is your cat making too much noise all the time? Is your cat constantly stomping around, driving you crazy? Is your cat clawing at your furniture? Think there’s no answer? You’re so stupid! There is! Kitten Mittens! Finally, there’s a elegant, comfortable mitten for cats. I couldn’t hear anything! Is your cat one-legged? Is your cat fat, skinny or an in-between? That doesn’t matter, ’cause one size fits all! Kitten Mittens… you’ll be smitten! So come on down to Paddy’s Pub… we’re the home of the original Kitten Mittens! Meeeeeeoooooow!”

- Charlie Day – It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia

About this image: faux tintype – digital photograph, highly modified

85 thoughts on “Cat’s Head Point

    • Hahaha…
      CRS… I’ve got a terrible case of that, Deb! I’d say I’m pretty much the poster-child for it!

      Oh… thank you so much, Deb! You are always so kind to me… you always make my day! I sure do appreciate your generosity! It’s so nice to be thought of! Thank you again, Deb! :)

  1. I really like this one SIG as it has a sort of
    eerie look to it, almost from one of my scripts :)

    Well there could be anything lurking just below
    the waters surface, or maybe there is a ghoul
    just out of camera shot? :) Well I told you this
    one looks a tad creepy, but guess what?

    I definitely like it my
    wickedly fine friend :)

    Have a ghoulishly
    exciting evening now :)

    Androgoth

    • Many thanks, A.G.!
      I’m so happy to hear you liked this one!
      I guess it’s a good thing that my swimming skills are so lacking and I was forced to stay on the shore! Unless that ghoul was a vegitarian, I guess! :)

  2. Beautiful processing results. :)

    Koan: Where does Cat’s head point ?
    Towards the tail end of the sea just beyond the middens.

    Midden, Defin.: an old dump for domestic waste which may consist of animal bones

    • Spring and the ocean sure has a nice ring to it, S.F… I feel exactly the same!
      This was fairly similar to my faux wet plate collodion process… a scan of polyurethane digitally overlayed onto a photograph (the only real difference was this time I poured the poly. onto a piece of distressed aluminum flashing rather than a piece of plexiglass / clear acrylic panel)… :)

    • Did you spot Nessy, J.G.?
      (I considered Photoshopping her in there… hmm… seriously, though… it might be fun to do a ‘hoax’ series… I might have to try that, at some point.) :)

    • AH!
      That sounds like an idea!
      I might have to go with beer, though… I’m still working on the whole ‘elegance’ thing.
      Maybe Corona with lime… that seems like it might work! :)

      • The closest I get to beer is the black German lager. Tequila is my poison of choice. Followed closely by vodka. Mmm. Tequila. Is it 5 yet?
        Red.

        • Hmmm… can’t say I’ve tried a beer like that before… sadly I’m not much of a connoisseur. My palate is about as sophisticated as the rest of me… which is (sorry to say) not very!
          Hahaha… it’s got to be 5 o-clock somewhere, Red! :)

          • I have always preferred ale and lager to American beer. All in all, I would much prefer something which will put my lights out without so much effort as the 12 ounce curl. Call me lazy if you must, but there it is.. ;)
            Red.

        • And now for a drinking tip straight from my medication administration nursing class:

          When you drink a shot don’t just swallow, hold the liquor under your tongue and swirl it around there for a minute. You will get ‘the effects’ quicker because it is absorbed faster and more efficiently under your tongue than in your stomach! Oh, the fun things you can learn from a nurse! :P

  3. Pingback: Spring Decorating | Momma's Money Matters

    • Hahaha…
      the side-effects have to be doing something…
      but…
      how else can the poor guy get any sleep?! With all those cats outside his and Frank’s apartment? ;)
      Thank you so much, Dishy! :)

    • Always happy to have you scroll through, sir, thank you!
      And thank you so much for your extremely kind comment as well (as always)!
      I sincerely appreciate your generosity! :)

    • Hahaha… I know! I was totally surprised by the name, too. Which I just discovered a few days ago when I did some research (even though I’ve been there several times already)!
      Thanks very much, U.M… long-ish I’d say (it was a bit cloudy that day). I was hoping to try some REALLY long exposures… Hiroshi Sugimoto type seascapes, but missed out on the opportunity. Some day, though… I hope… :)

    • Thank you very much, Ms. K!
      It’s located in the Northwest portion of lower Michigan (on Lake Michigan)…
      the beach is fairly rocky there (compared to many just a bit further south) so by walking out just a bit you can usually find a nice quiet spot to relax for a bit… :)

    • I often try removing elements suggestive of a particular era from photographs…
      I think there’s something special about images that look as though they could be from any moment in time.
      I’m not always very successful, so it was nice to hear you found a hint of that in this one… thank you, B.P.! :)

  4. 1-size-fits-all-who’s?
    How to be sure that they’re in in fact, fittin?
    I could just imagine the neighbour’s tom (actually he goes by Caesar, not Tom) – spittin’!
    I suspect the last word on this
    has yet to be written.
    Nonetheless ’tis a great composition.
    Now by the travel bug I have been bitten.
     
    Urk urk, this is so lame but couldn’t myself :D

    • Hahaha… that’s awesome, P&K! I sure wish I could come up with an appropriate response! Sadly I’m lucky if I can form a coherent thought… one that also rhymes is a bit above my pay-grade!
      I hope you have a great day, meow! :)

        • Hahaha…
          so funny! AND interesting… I considered trying to use the old roses / violets in my original reply but couldn’t even get that to fire… obviously you’ve had no trouble at all, though… hilarious! :)

  5. Hey what gives??? I can’t see no pointy headed pussy cats to chase. But it looks like a nice beach to have a swim at

Leave a Reply

