True

It’s that very special time of year… where I post a photo of the random, Valentine’s Day junk I made for my lovely wifey. AND introduce you to the SpilledInkGuy / Refrigerator Magnate school of how not to miter a joint.

Here at the SIG-RM school of how not to miter a joint you will learn how to: go through a small forest of lumber (and not produce any random complementary angles, much less two 45’s)! We may not demonstrate industry standards OR be… literate, but we’re totally on the cheap! Just 4 easy payments of $19.95 for a poorly Photoshopped degree! Huzzah!

About this image: Mixed media… found objects… n’ stuff. On/in an 8″x8″ Panel.

18 thoughts on “True

  1. Those miter joints look pretty good to me. You do need a good miter-box or chopsaw (something without too much wear or play) to produce 45’s that are close to 45.

    • Thanks, Binky! Yeah, the good-ol hand-held special does not work too well for me! I need all the jigs I can get my hands on! 🙂

  2. once I get my taxes and pay what few bills I have I might have just enough for one class. Not promicing anything you see. But fingers crossed.

  3. That looks really good to me. Although there are 2 joints I can see that could do with a little improvement. Just sayin. I never noticed the extremely low scrabble score till Bearman pointed it out…

    • Hahaha… thanks, Tony! Yeah, it’s also TRUE that if I were a carpenter I’d be very depressed! As it is, I just try laugh these things off. Until the next time I have to create an ill-fitting corner, that is! 🙂

  4. I think this is very sweet! and creative!

    I could teach you a thing or two about proper mitre joints. Let’s just say I’ve been known to receive power tools as gifts and just finished renovating our kitchen…

    • Thank you so much!

      I need to learn a thing or two about them, too! Although I might not mix well with power tools… if anyone would loose an arm or two it would be me! 🙂

    • Thank you very much, N.M. – it looked a little better in my minds eye, but it’s the thought that counts, right?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

