Distances

My camera – she’s-a so ‘new’… but I like photos that look-a so old! Okay, my camera isn’t that new.Β  Still, its not like I’m loading wet plates into the thing (which would be so cool – I hope to explore all kinds of alternative photographic processes… someday). *sigh*

I digitally manipulated this shot quite a bit (trying to make it to read… older). If you’re like my wife, that crooked horizon probably irritates you a bit. I did straighten it… and try it at even sharper angles, but I ‘likes’ it this way, so this is how it stays *arms crossed defiantly over chest*. Good day, everyone – I’m off to row. Up-hill!

About this image: Ilford 35mm film scan, digitally toned, blurred, vignetted, scratched and beat to he-double hockey sticks. Mercilessly.

24 thoughts on “Distances

  1. WOW! When did you start this blog? I see about 5 posts, so it must be fairly new. Love everything so far (especially the Valentine’s post. So creative!) I’m putting you in my reader now.

    I have an old SLR but I’m too in love with my digital now. (The truth is I’m so lame – I love the easiness of it!) But, I do admire you for continuing to playing around with it and receiving such great results!

    • Thanks very much, J.G. – I just started this mess last week so it is very new!

      When I was in school I had access to a darkroom so I could process my film and make my own prints, which was awesome. Now most of my 35mm stuff is color, which I let the experts handle.

      Truthfully I mostly shoot digital now, too. I’d love to set up a darkroom of my own some day, though. I think it would be fun to print digital photos using early ‘alternative’ methods. And do more pinhole work. And maybe even learn a wet-plate process. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, B.D.!
      It never fails to amaze me how powerful Photoshop is… and I’m still running CS3… and I utilize such a small fraction of it’s potential. πŸ™‚

      • Thank you, Annabelle. You probably just like to be reminded of Michigan. Or of swampy, bug infested gunk. One of those, anyway. πŸ™‚

        • I do like to be reminded of Michigan but maybe not the gunk so much lol. Gross! Next time we go I’m going to take you to the Old Mission lighthouse instead. It still has neat rocks but its much less swampy!

    • Ha! Well it’s that… it’s umm…
      Okay, you got me, Binky – I was just saying that to sound more photographer-like. Honestly, I don’t even know how to get it loaded into my digital camera! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

