Nature Hates Me

Here’s the thing; nature and I seem to have a healthy disregard for each other. I stay inside with my nice indoor plumbing, it, in turn, seems to leave me alone – for the most part.

Anyway, well perusing Jillsy Girl Studio, I noticed a bird photography challenge of sorts. I didn’t really understand the rules (I never do), but Jillsy is always posting amazing nature photographs and, being a rather dim-witted fellow, I decided (against my better judgment) to attempt to photograph a stinkin’ bird (I feed these creatures every day – they should work with me on this, right)?!

Here’s the problem; I’m twitchy and slow, birds are twitchy and fast. Mission FAILURE. I don’t know how J.G. gets such amazing results. I give-up. I bruise easily, and nature has thoroughly kicked my a**. Again.

About this image: Digital photograph heavily modified

40 thoughts on “Nature Hates Me

  1. I am a biologist and I can’t take a decent shot of a critter. Shameful when you think about it, but honestly I have little interest in nature photography. Kinda like a car mechanic who will not fix his own car. I feel your faux pain. πŸ˜‰

    • *whew* Glad I’m not the only one (although I’m fairly certain you’re being way too modest, Mr. J)!

      It’s weird – I enjoy looking at others’ nature photography, yet… it just doesn’t seem to work for me. πŸ™‚

      • Ha, I am not being modest. Like you, I too like looking at cool nature photography, but have little interest to doing it myself.

        I think this goes back to a photography teacher I had early on who nothing good to say about nature and landscape photography. He would occasionally say, “Gee whiz folks, anybody, and I mean anybody, with some decent equipment could just walk up and shoot that…what’s the point.” He also said of Ansel Adams, “He’s a rich brat. Sure he is a master technician and could make great negatives, but of what?” So maybe I still hear his voice some days.

        • Well said, Robert.
          If find myself in an amazing natural setting two things usually happen:
          1) I usually do get a few ‘okay’ shots because, as that teacher said, landscapes do a lot of the heavy lifting for you, still…
          2) My shots never go beyond ‘okay’ – I find it nearly impossible to compete with nature – I can never capture the experience of being there. Some folks have a knack for it, unfortunately just I’m not one of ’em! πŸ™‚

          • I am not one those folks either. But more to the point, what’s wrong with your robin photo? It looks fine to me. Okay, I’ll stop bogarting your comment thread.

          • It’s just… bland. It doesn’t make me think, ‘that would look nice blown up and framed’. Not that most of my stuff does, but…

            Not at all, Mr. J. – I always appreciate both your stopping by and your insightful comments! πŸ™‚

  2. It’s a lovely photo! Don’t be so self critical!

    PS: Saw a flock of robins here in Maine this week — Spring can’t be that far off (even with feet of snow on the ground still)!!!!

    • You said it, JB! I was actually dive bombed by a humming bird once – true story! It’s probably a good thing I didn’t have my camera at the time – I’m pretty sure I would have dropped it! πŸ™‚

    • I’m not an expert on these things, but I think so! Interestingly enough it was sitting next to a robin chartreuse-breast – maybe I should have tried to photograph that one, too! πŸ™‚

  3. Pretty little birdy on my window sill
    Pretty little birdy with a yellow bill
    I fed him milk
    I fed him bread
    Then I slammed the window on his head

    Sorry I couldn’t help it…
    I really love birds it’s just that this one with it’s yellow beak reminded me of the poem

  4. LOL! Yes, photographing wildlife takes practice…I feel your pain! I still like the shot, tho.

    The key to wildlife photography is a REALLY big lens and LOTS of patience!

  5. Hee hee. So this is what you were doing on my birthday last year.

    Well, twitchy or not, nature has blessed that birdy with an awesome costume.

    Was just visiting Red’s page, & was reminded of ye….

    • Hahaha… indeed! Running around… chasing poor unsuspecting Robins from feeder to feeder! Something tells me they got a laugh or two out of my antics, too, though!
      Thanks so much, W.F.F.M.E!
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

