Spires (anthotype)

Ever wonder what to do with that can of beets that’s been in your pantry for a decade or two? Why not make an image with it?!

Sunlight tends to fade… stuff. This is true of pigments found in flowers, fruits, vegetables, etc.  – enter the anthotype printing process (basically coating paper with photosensitive plant material and contact printing in direct sunlight). How ’bout them apples (or… beets, I guess)?

Note: Different plants require various exposure times, and (unfortunately) I know of no way to permanently ‘fix’ an anthotype from further solar ‘bleaching’.

About this image: Watercolor paper coated with beet juice – contact printed with transparency in direct sunlight (approx. 35 hours +/-)

33 thoughts on “Spires (anthotype)

  1. I’m glad Annabelle pointed out the bird — so subtle I almost missed it.

    Inky – you continue to astound with your extraordinary talent and creativity. Who would have thought beets could produce something so exquisite?! Otherwise, I abhor them!

    • It is, isn’t it? Some time I should post the regular photo for comparison.

      You are simply too kind, Dishy! I’m not a huge fan of beets, either (but if anyone could turn them around it would be you)! 🙂

      • You are too sweet. I have like 3 recipes for beets on The Daily Dish and even those I’m not that big on. Although I *did* find a recipe for Beet Raita last night at the library.. and checked it out, just in case. But I still think I’ll hate it. There’s just something about beets I cannot stand.

        • I don’t know what it is about beets… but they seem very polarizing. People either love them or hate them. I’m about the only person I can think of who tends to be indifferent… interesting (as far as beets go, I guess)! 🙂

    • I wish I could take credit for the idea…
      Sir John Herschel started this craze back in 1842 (at least according to Wikipedia, anyway. And Wikipedia is must be right. Right?!)
      🙂

  2. Looks like a sleeveless T-shirt someone washed with a brand new red shirt. Just sayin’… It is a really cool looking effect

Leave a Reply

