Rooftop – Alton, Illinois

Hey, hey, it must be random rooftop day! Aren’t billboard support structures great? Oh, and rooftop water towers, too. There’s something very… ‘built’, and imposing about them. Or maybe it’s just that they remind me of Empire Records. Which has an excellent soundtrack. And isn’t too shabby a movie, either.

Warren: “Who glued these quarters down?”

A.J.: “I did.”

Warren: “What the h*** for, man?!”

A.J.: “I don’t feel the need to explain my art to you, Warren.”

– Empire Records

About this image: Holga/35mm film scan – moderately modified

34 thoughts on “Rooftop – Alton, Illinois

  1. I really like the colours again, SIG.
    I was fourteen in 1974. Also the year I moved with my mum, sister, and step father from England to Australia. I kept thinking we had moved to the suburbs of the universe.

    • Thank you very much, S.E. – you are too kind, as always.
      That is quite a move – when I was in grade school my family moved 30 miles and I thought that was a big deal! 🙂

  2. Nice Holga pic! 5 years ago I got my first Holga and found the use of that camera very liberating even though it has a limited f-stop and shutter speed. I recently used it again during the Thai New Year when everywhere you go, people are splashing water on you. I had no worries taking around the Holga because it is relatively water proof!

    • Thank you very much, sir!
      Absolutely – shooting with a Holga really breaks things down to the most basic (which can be a lot of fun, I think)! And, as you say, it’s nice not to have to worry about expensive equipment at times, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

