Mackerel

It’s a good thing I’m not a fisherman – it’s even hard for me to catch a fish at the supermarket. I doubt Ernie will invite me to the lake anytime soon.

Ernie: “Heeeeere fishie fishie fishie!”

*a fish flies out of the water and into the boat*

Ernie: “One… one fish.”

Bert: “Wow!”

Ernie: “Um-hm. I think I’ll call a few more. Heeeeere fishie fishie fishie!”

*another fish flies out of the water and into the boat*

Ernie: “Two fish. Shall I call a few more, Burt?”

– Ernie and Burt – Sesame Street

About this image: Digital Photograph – highly modified – replication of alternative print from faux glass plate negative

34 thoughts on “Mackerel

    • I don’t know – how frequently they use the ‘old’ material, it’s been a while since I’ve seen the show…
      although I did just watch this video on Youtube (I had to get that conversation right, you know). πŸ™‚

  1. Hmm something smells a little bit fishy in here… πŸ˜› Though not as bad as the market where we bought this fish. Talk about questionable odors! Yikes…

  2. I’ve never tried Mackeral. I see mackeral & I instantly think canned cat food. I don’t kow if I’d eat this one, it’s rather brown looking. Are you sure it’s not a brown trout???

    • Funny how I still remember stuff like old Sesame Street skits but I couldn’t tell you what I had for lunch today… kinda’ scary! Guess I’m not sure what you mean by imprint, but then you already knew I’m a little slow, right Lynn?! πŸ™‚

    • I’ve been exaggerating this fish story a bit – it came from a supermarket and he was in pretty good shape…
      My wife tells me that matching stuff / accessorizing is important – I just take her word for it because I honestly don’t know any better.
      HAHAHA! That’s hilarious! Maybe that thunder I just heard was Neptune (or one of his buddies) laughing! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and for the kind comments as well!
      I’ve yet to put together anything like that, but if you ever have any specific questions please feel free to ask
      (I’m more than happy to provide info if I can)!
      πŸ™‚

  3. glad you posted the link to this one on your most recent posted project – as i can see i missed two important things: this original image, which is cool, and the fishing episode with Bert and Ernie with this delightful dialogue. i really do like the juxtaposition in your posts of the depth of your art and some of the un-depth (is that a word) of your quotes. too fun!
     
    a great piece. not a super great fan of fish, though. i’ll order it in a restaurant on occasion, and then that’s enough fishy business for me for a long time. but this one is very cool, and makes for some beautiful eye candy. thanks for sharing.

    • Wow – thank you so much for the incredibly kind comment, P&K!

      Hahaha… yeah… some of my images can be a bit… um… ‘unique’, so I like to include a silly quote if I can think of one. That way, there are a few more options to comment on. And yeah, I think it’s kind of funny to mix up the level of depth that way, too (that’s just my sense of humor, you know).
      Interesting… I generally don’t eat fish very often, either. Although I love fish tanks (if I’m not responsible for keeping them clean, anyway)!
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

