Gone To Seed

I’m really going to miss all these metal plates in the attic of our store… they made killer backgrounds. This one even looks like it’s got some abstracted cloud formation stuff going on along the bottom – and that circle at the top looks almost sun or moon-like. The rest is just details. Grassy, grassy details.

Carl: I invented my own kind of grass, too. Did you know that? Look at this. This is registered – Carl Spackler’s Bent.
Ty: I’ve felt grass like this before. I’ve played on this stuff.
Carl: This is a hybrid. This is a cross bluegrass, Kentucky bluegrass, featherbed bent, and northern California sinsemilla. The amazing stuff about this is that you can play 36 holes on it in the afternoon take it home and just get stoned to the bejeezus-belt at night on this stuff. I’ve got pounds of this stuff…

Bill Murray and Chevy Chase – Caddyshack

About this image: digital photograph, moderately modified

33 thoughts on “Gone To Seed

  1. You do a great job combining natural elements…this almost looks embossed and I agree, those metal plates do give you amazing texture and character!

    Where y’all going?

    Hehehehe…Caddyshack…awesome flick! 🙂

    • Metal: it’s the coolest!

      We’re closing our store’s ‘physical location’…

      You said it, M.P.! I bet a post like this comes with a free bowl of soup…
      🙂

  2. I’m loving this! Good use of metal plates 😀 I like the black and white photo in the post below. I like your use of dialogue…too funny!
    Mary

  3. Please tell me you’re not selling the store.. please?

    I’ve yet to visit and though I likely never will get out that way, there’s a peace in my mind just knowing you & Annabelle are there.

    • Not selling so much (that has a nicer ring to it).
      We’re um… ‘restructuring’ to a purely ‘online presence’… so to speak. Eh. What can you do?

      You are always so kind, Dishy – thank you!
      🙂

  4. Very neat! The textures of the plate and the grass seem to complement each other perfectly.

    Can’t you take the metal plates with you? They’ve been so good to you!

  5. I guess I should read the rest of the comments first. Haha. Sorry the physical store is closing. It was on my list of stops if I ever made it back down that way

    • No worries, Bearman! I’m always happy to answer a comment (I don’t expect you to dig through every one of my rambling responses – that sounds painful!)
      Thank you sir – I appreciate that very much! 🙂

  6. Love this shot, the detail is awesome and the metal plate is indeed a great background. I like how the grass has an almost metallic quality to it as well.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by Mr. H – and thank you for your kind comments as well! I really appreciate that!
      Metal is so interesting… I’m never disappointed by all the details you can pull out of it.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

