No Parking

These boots were made for walking, but this ramp sure wasn’t made for parking.

Walter Sobchak: “Who’s got a f****n’ million f****n’ dollars sittin’ in the trunk of our car?”
The Dude: “Our car, Walter?”
Walter Sobchak: “And whadda they got? My dirty undies… My f*****g whites…”
Walter Sobchak: “Say, dude. Where is your car?”
Donny: “Who’s got your undies, Walter?”
Walter Sobchak: “Where’s your car, dude?”
The Dude: “You don’t know, Walter?”
Walter Sobchak: [clears throat] “It was parked in a handicapped zone, perhaps they towed it.”
The Dude: “You f*****g know its been stolen.”
Walter Sobchak: “Well, certainly that’s a possibility, Dude.”

– John Goodman, Jeff Bridges & Steve Buscemi – The Big Lebowski

About this image: Ilford 35mm film scan, lightly modified

47 thoughts on “No Parking

    • Thank you so much, Juana – that is very kind of you!
      I really like images that tell a story – especially ones that are left open for individual interpretation (which is pretty much any image, really), but… you know.
      🙂

  1. I am so mysterious in this picture! Oooo! But when we were taking it I think we were more odd than mysterious. People were like, “What? Why is she dressed like that and why is he rolling around on the ground with a camera.” or something.

    • I can’t believe we haven’t been arrested yet. Not that we’ve ever done anything wrong, really – it’s just with all the strange looks we tend to get from people… you would think there would be more pressing issues to be concerned about than random photography… but…
      🙂

  2. All your art is so rugged and yet so sensual. I often wonder abotu artists and their personalities since the only thing we viewers know is the art and not the artist behind. SiG, you are an enigma wrapped up in a riddle. Btw, love the boots. I’m a boot gal myself.

    • Thank you, Lynn – I’ll happily take that description!
      Yeah – art types… what can you say? All my artsy friends are extremely nice people, although most are also a bit… eccentric (kinda’ par for the course, I guess)… but that just keeps things interesting, right?!
      I had a hunch you might be a boot gal, Lynn. 🙂

  3. I really like the composition and the images really does make you ask ‘Who is she?, what’s going on?, is she meeting someone?’. Loving your work!
    Astra Wally

    • I took this one quite a while ago… but I still kinda’ like it.
      Thanks so much for stopping by, Astra Wally – and for the kind comments!
      I appreciate it very much (and I’m really loving your work as well, sir)!
      🙂

    • No need to apologize at all! Your English is better than mine (and it’s my first language)!
      I’m very happy that you liked this one, Malin (this was shot down in the same ramp where I took the ‘lines’ photo with the wall / railing / and tree branches.
      🙂

      • My english is very good in my head, I’m good in reading and listening and understand almost everything, but when it comes to write and also talk… 😉 I have to think before I write, but good to know that you at least understand me and that my english is better than yours ;D

        You have so many good photographs, Robert. I mean that.

        • Your English is very, very good, Malin… really. I am terribly impressed by it! 🙂 I really should learn how to speak a few more languages (I feel bad that I don’t). I took a few years of Spanish in school, and I remember a little bit of that, but not really enough to even have a basic conversation at this point. Kind of sad, really. 😦

          • Haha, now you are just too kind 😉 My English is maybe something like “ok”. 😉

            I had German and English in school… I don’t remember much from the German language though 😉 I understand German, but not as much as I should.

          • No, really… your English is very, very good! I’ve always been impressed!
            Hmm… I have a friend who speaks a little German… (he likes to insult me with it so I don’t know what he’s saying)!
            🙂

Leave a Reply

