Baseball n’ Apple Pie

Here’s a photo I took in the attic of our store. And then I messed it up a bit.

Abbott: “On the Saint Louie Team we have, ah, Who’s on first, What’s on second, I Don’t Know’s on third…”

Costello: “That’s what I wanna’ find out. I want you to tell me the names of the fellows on the Saint Louis team.”

Abbott: “I’m, I’m telling you, Who’s on first, What’s on second, I Don’t Know’s on third…”

Costello: “You know the fellows’ names?”

Abbott: “Yes.”

Costello: “Well then who’s playing first?”

Abbott: “Yes.”

Costello: “I mean the fellow’s name on first base?”

Abbott: “Who.”

William Abbott and Lou Costello – Who’s on first?

About this image: digital image, moderately modified

42 thoughts on “Baseball n’ Apple Pie

  1. Robert, I haven’t taken the time to tell you, but I have really been impressed with your photography. I love seeing these–you’ve got a great eye and a deft touch.

    • The ceilings are so low in this attic I didn’t need much added height (which also = my constantly smacking my head into something). I did have to set my tripod up on a table, but other than that things worked out pretty easily. 🙂

    • We’ve got them in the rest of the store – there’s just this one older style bulb up in the attic. The more dated feel was definitely something I was after… and (at the time) I was finding some meaning in showcasing / contrasting that bare bulb with other elements in the photo…
      🙂

    • The title was a very vague reference to the flag in this image and the old, ‘As American as baseball and apple pie’ line. I’m being all silly lately, so there might be a tie in with the bare bones bulb / fixture (economic ‘stuff’). I considered taking the bulb out completely.
      Thanks so much, Dishy – you are always far too kind! 🙂

  2. I love your old-timey processing! (I’d call it vintage, but it’s better than that)

    Not sure what “Who’s on first” has to do with it, but I love that skit!

  3. Nice the way you combine the elements and use depth of field. Though I don’t think I’d recommend playing baseball with a light bulb.

    • I wasn’t too sure about this one… I tried setting it up quite a few different ways and I was having a difficult time deciding on which option to go with…
      Thank you, S.E.! 🙂

    • Don’t worry about it, S.E.! It was a very vague reference at best, and my responses take some serious time and effort to make sense of…
      I completely understand that, S.E. – I’m always a bit tired and slow!
      🙂

  4. You know SiG, it’s really amazing to me that you can take something as mundane as a simple ordinary lightbulb and turn it into art like this. You’ve got skills man! (and not just the kind that’ll get the girls either) 🙂

    • That’s very kind of you to say, Lynn –
      it’s really more about necessity than anything… we’ve been so busy at the store I usually have to scrounge stuff up around here… the pickings might be getting a bit slim.
      Hahaha… skills? Girls? Hmmm… maybe in some alternate universe…
      🙂

Leave a Reply

