U.S.S. Riverside (T.T.V.)

Wow. That was somehow both the longest and the shortest two-day / two-week ‘vacation’ I’ve ever been on. Seems our over-heating car doesn’t feel like boldly going anywhere. Sweet.

Anyway, the above was probably the highlight of the whole ordeal trip. Straight from the ‘Future Home of Captain James T. Kirk’ (Riverside, Iowa), I present to you, the U.S.S. Riverside! Set phasers to fun. Or… something along those lines.

About this image: digital photograph taken though viewfinder of Kodak Duaflex II twin lens reflex camera – lightly modified

51 thoughts on “U.S.S. Riverside (T.T.V.)

  1. That is one of the best things I have ever seen on a trailer. This may rank in my top ten of ‘most excellent things ever seen on a trailer’. Very cool photo. I hope you had a good trip.
    Astra Wally

    • Thanks very much, sir!
      Honestly the trip kinda’ stunk. We were supposed to be gone for 2 weeks, but the car got in the way of that. This trailer was pretty entertaining, though! 🙂

    • Hahaha… either that or the engine had been struck with a photon torpedo!
      Thanks, C.O.R… It might have been (I think I saw a tiny William Shatner peering out from one of the little windows…) 🙂

  2. Good Grief, are they allowed to park that thing there??? Surely they would need a special permit due to the possible outer-space radioactivity or something. Illegal aliens on board could pose a National Security threat too. It’d be awesome to see it cruise through McDonald’s drive thru

    • Hahaha!
      Well, I think they did have all the proper space-parking permits filled out, because it was in the parking lot of a quasi science fiction museum.
      I’d love to order a Big Mac meal from this thing! Or even without it! Man, now I’ve made myself so hungry I’m going to have to make it a large, too! 🙂

  3. Sorry to hear about your trip. Hope you can get the car fixed and fixed and finish the trip soon.

    Neat shot. You were on the ground for this one, weren’t you?

    • Thanks, Binky… this is some serious mechanical failure…
      it might actually be more economical to look into a ‘new’ used car at this point. Blah.

      Hahaha… busted! 🙂

    • I spent quite a few years in/near a town ‘famous’ for it’s winking smile face water tower (I could see it from my apartment at one point).
      I can’t take much credit for that this time. Sometimes I ‘distress’ an image, but this time you’re seeing dust and scratches in the optics of the viewfinder I’m shooting through. Kinda’ cool, eh?! 🙂

  4. Wonderful ! Right up there with the Wawa Goose (Ontario) . They should take it for a spin and visit Vulcan, Alberta Ca. .

  5. Wow, you just made Iowa fun 😉

    When I drove through Iowa two summers back all I saw was corn. Actually I thought the cornfields on rolling hills looked very picturesque.

    Set phasers to fun. Would that include some kind of laughing gas that is injecting from the phaser?

    • Ha!
      From what I saw of Iowa there was quite a bit of corn, and it was very picturesque… unfortunately I spent a lot of my time staring at the temperature gauge.

      Ha again! That’s the thing about this technology, Mel… I don’t have the first clue how it works. Just that it’s amazing stuff! 🙂

  6. ‘Set phasers to fun’ ::snort::
    Sorry after all the pre-trip aggro it all went pear shaped. I hope you can sort something out.

  7. I had to look twice at this photo!! I cracked up when I realized someone was towing that space ship around. Please!! These are the things worth going out on a long-short weekend in an overheated car!! Thanks for sharing it- I needed some fun this morning!

    • It was pretty amusing, Juana (and the photo doesn’t do it justice). I can imagine some of the things it’s been pulled around with, too… plenty of riding lawn mowers I suspect…
      🙂

    • Yeah. At some point you have to just laugh. What else can you do?
      Hahaha… I was getting some unusual looks when I took this one… but I’m getting used to that…
      🙂

Leave a Reply

