Pier Closed (T.T.V.)

I was going to take some photos of the pier yesterday, but… yeah. Bummer, dude. Although Annabelle pointed out this shot kinda’ has a Blues Brothers feel to it. Which made me feel much better, of course.

Jake: “What the hell is this?”
Elwood: “This was a bargain. I picked it up at the Mount Prospect city police auction last spring. It’s an old Mount Prospect police car. They were practically giving ’em away.”
Jake: “Well thank you, pal. The day I get outta prison, my own brother picks me up in a ‘police’ car!”

– John Belushi & Dan Aykroyd – Blues Brothers

About this image: digital photograph taken though viewfinder of Kodak Duaflex II twin lens reflex camera – lightly modified

48 thoughts on “Pier Closed (T.T.V.)

    • It does look like that, doesn’t it!
      I think the reason it was closed was that the river it spans has been so high lately. It appeared to have been damaged in a few places by debris that had struck the side and splintered a bit of the wood deck.
      Thank you very much for stopping by and for your kind comment (as always)! 🙂

    • Hahaha!
      Hey! I bet that’s why the pier was closed! How could I have forgotten about sea monster season! *whew* That could have been bad!
      Thank you very much for stopping by, Megan! 🙂

  1. The TTV thing always looked complicated to me, but I like the result. Pier says ocean to me (I grew up in a California beach town), so where is this if I may ask?

  2. Love the pic Inky. The pier looks more like a cage though.. I think you’re fortunate they were closed for the day (never know what could have happened, and none of it good!)

  3. Without the sign of course, it reminds me of a prison workout yard. Not that I’ve ever seen a prison workout yard before but i can imagine that’s how one would look. I think most of your art has a geometric theme. You love balance and it loves you!

    • It reminded me of something very similar, Lynn.
      And thank you so much, that is so kind of you to say! (I was kinda’ thinking I was looking for what I was lacking in the balance department)!
      🙂

  4. Love it! And now for my favorite Blues Brothers quotes:

    “Our Lady of Blessed Acceleration, don’t fail me now.” (I’ve used this one a few times….)

    “It’s 106 miles to Chicago, we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it’s dark… and we’re wearing sunglasses.”
    “Hit it.” (Used this one too….)

    “Illinois Nazis.”
    “I hate Illinois Nazis!”

    • Isn’t that distortion cool?! That old Duaflex is just too much fun!
      Hahaha… I don’t float very well, so I might just have to do that. Safety first, you know, U.M.!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

