Frankfort Light

Here’s an image from our trip (sort of). It wasn’t raining and the lamp wasn’t lit at the time, so I B.S.ed that part with wet plexiglass and a flashlight. I could have done something very similar with Photoshop only, but I wanted each droplet to reflect/refract/distort the image and was curious how ‘real’ light would interact with ‘real’ water. *ting* Why make things easy, right?!

Have a great weekend, everyone!

About this image: digital photograph printed, hole and flashlight used to simulate lit lamp, rephotographed behind plexiglass, highly modified

75 thoughts on “Frankfort Light

    • Thank you so much, S.E…
      I’m never very sure about these things, but sometimes the experiment is part of the fun (when it doesn’t turn out as a complete failure, anyway)! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, Nigel…
      I don’t mind spending a lot of time on a project just as long as I get some sort of result. Honestly I thought there might be a bit more happening with this one, but I wasn’t entirely disappointed, either, I guess!
      πŸ™‚

    • There are combinations of filters that yield similar textures and white brushes + a bit of lens flare would have produced similar lighting effects, still I wanted to get as much out of this one as I could… and it was a lot of fun to work on.
      Thank you very much, sir!
      πŸ™‚

  1. I appreciate the extra effort you made to ‘change’ the photo. Photoshop is a wonderful tool for art – most certainly. Still, there is something to be said for non-computer generated artwork, too. Excellent, SIG. Never would have known it was not raining and the lighthouse was not working.

    • Thank you so much, Ms. D – that is very kind of you to say!
      I totally agree with you on that. Photoshop is amazing, but I think it tends to get abused quite a bit. Sometimes I worry that I’ve gone beyond enhancing an image into producing something that’s almost dishonest. I think just keeping that in mind helps me out (well, sometimes, anyway)!
      πŸ™‚

  2. I really like the mood in this one.

    Have you ever thought about occasionally posting a “before” picture? Sometimes with these highly-modified shots, I get curious about what the original unmodified picture looked like.

    • Thank you very much, Laura!
      That is a very good idea – I’ve had one or two other people ask me about this as well… I might just have to try something along those lines…
      πŸ™‚

    • I’m fairly happy with how this one turned out, I guess…
      which is a good thing, because I had about two of pretty much everything I owned laying out on the floor in order to make it happen!
      Thank you, sir!
      πŸ™‚

    • I’m very happy to hear you say that, because there’s nothing worse than spending a ton of time on something that doesn’t quite work out…
      thank you very much, U.M.!
      πŸ™‚

    • I used a spray bottle to mist some water on a piece of plexiglass, and then shot through that.
      That would have been totally tubular, F.L… except that something tells me I might have ‘spilled’ out to sea!
      πŸ™‚

    • It’s difficult to go wrong with subject matter like that!
      Hahaha… I did see at least one of those… for a few minutes, anyway (then my retinas started to shut down)!
      πŸ™‚

  3. You mean you *lied*! πŸ™‚ Seriously, I wouldn’t have a clue how to produce this effect in PS so I’m interested to see how an ‘old school’ approach worked. I love your reasoning – how will real droplets affect the image etc? That’s an artistic mind at work and we all know that artistic minds can produce the most amazing and innovative results. I think it’s great. Are those two figures in the foreground? Your work and their presence gives a mysterious air to the image.

    • Hahaha well, uh… maybeeee. Okay, okay, you totally busted me!
      There are ways to do just about everything imaginable in Photoshop, but I’ve discovered the more editing I do pre-P.S the better off I tend to be. Which probably doesn’t say too much about my P.S. skills! Anyway, thank you very much, Jayne – that is very kind of you to say! I figure if I keep experimenting for long enough I should get something to work out… some day. Or at least that’s what I’m hoping for, anyway!
      Those foreground elements were what looked to be capped metal pipes embedded in the concrete at marked intervals. Sadly I’m not sure what they are, or even what they’re used for… I’m guessing they might be structural, but I’m probably way off on that.
      πŸ™‚

    • I was very happy to hear you liked this one, U.M!
      Quite honestly it was a bit of a pain… after this project my apartment looked like a horror movie had been shot here… what a MESS I made! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks very much, Mr. B – that’s very kind of you to say!
      I’m very happy it reads that way… because that is definitely the direction I was trying to take this one
      (sometimes I’m not sure how realistic the results are, though)!
      Thanks again, sir!
      πŸ™‚

      • As a photographer, I know there is no way in the world that the lens could capture that image. That being said, it its still realistic as that is what someone would see if they were there. Nice work, man!

        • I guess that’s part of the challenge and sometimes the fun (sometimes the frustration).
          The biggest downfall to photography for me (besides the cost of much of the analogue stuff I’d like to work with) is setting a scene up. I often have a VERY specific idea in mind, and sometimes putting all the pieces together is just not possible. Of course every now and then I stumble upon something I would have never been able to dream up in the first place, so I guess that helps to balance thins out a bit.
          Thank you again, sir!
          πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

