Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

Here’s the underside of an overpass… which is… up-ish, right? I’m not exactly following these challenges to the letter (hopefully I won’t get into too much trouble).

Larry Johnson: “I thought…”

Officer Foster: “Don’t think boy. Meow, do you know how fast you were going? Meow… what is so d*** funny?”

Larry Johnson: “I could have sworn you said meow.”

Officer Foster: “Do I look like a cat to you, boy? Am I jumpin’ around all nimbly bimbly from tree to tree? Am I drinking milk from a saucer? Do you see me eating mice? You stop laughing right meow!”

Larry Johnson: “Yes sir.”

Officer Foster: “Meow, I’m gonna have to give you a ticket on this one. No buts meow. It’s the law. Not so funny meow, is it? MEOW!”

– Paul Soter and Jim Gaffigan – Super Troopers

About this image: digital photograph, moderately modified

69 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

    • I’m very happy to hear that you liked it – that’s the main thing, right? I wish I could tell you I had assigned some kind of deep, hidden meaning to this one, but honestly I just liked the abstracted shapes.
      Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a kind comment! I really do appreciate it!
      šŸ™‚

  1. This is interesting – I can’t quite ‘see’ that it is an underside of an overpass, but I like the twist to the ‘up’ challenge. For whatever reason, I find it easier to see an elevator shaft out of the photo.
    Really interesting, SIG.

    • Thank you very much, Ms. D!
      Yeah, it’s abstracted quite a bit (to say the least). When I originally took this I was just trying to create some (hopefully) interesting shapes and textures. I’m not sure how appropriate it really is for this weeks challenge.
      šŸ™‚

  2. Hi, I’m Sandi- first time lurker. I scrolled through a few of your shots and really enjoyed them! Found you off American Wisdom. I pride myself on knowing quite a few films and usually can recongize “clips” (sigh) ohhh, mannn, I did not see Super Troopers…and I SO wanted to play along!

    Can you forgive Me..ow?

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA
    **Monday’s weight in- Down 14lbs in 3 weeks! Yay!

    • Hello, Sandy!
      Thank you very much for stopping by – I really appreciate it!
      Hahaha… after such a kind comment, it would be awful for me to hold that against you, Meow, wouldn’t it?!
      šŸ™‚

    • It is very abstracted, isn’t it? I really like overpasses and bridges, too! I’d love to take many more of these photos… finding a spot without too much traffic can be a bit difficult, though!
      Thank you so much, Dishy!
      šŸ™‚

    • It’s one of those movies that doesn’t require too much heavy mental lifting (which I appreciate from time to time)!
      Thank you so much for stopping by again, Megan! I really appreciate it!
      šŸ™‚

      • A problem with not being first comment. I can’t say, “Is that from Super Troopers?”

        That was one dirty little show that I saw in the movie theater. I was embarrassed that I brought my friends along.

        And of course, nice photo šŸ™‚

        PS: The meow scene was the best.

  3. My brain sees it as down. Like a strange pit beside a balcony rail. Maybe it’s a garbage chute for an apartment in a world made of cement.
    “Hey be careful! You almost fell in there…”

    • Funny you should mention that…
      I just watched this movie again a little while ago and I thought the very same thing when I saw him!

      It’s not just nimbly bimbly, it’s also all topsy-turvy-like, isn’t it!
      Thank you very much, U.M.!
      šŸ™‚

  4. the brain is telling the eyes that it’s “up”

    the eyes are looking at that black hole and refuse to conform.

    or, is it the other way around? now, i’ve confused myself!

    woof! i mean meow or was it woo…f! šŸ™‚

    • Hahaha… believe me, it’s almost always confusing around here!
      I hardly ever know what’s going on. But sometimes that’s part of the fun!
      Thank you very much, C.O.R… have a nice evening meow!
      šŸ™‚

    • I’m happy to hear you liked the quote!
      I am not very good with heights, either. If there’s any possible way I can tip I feel like I’m going to at any moment!
      Thank you very much for stopping by, Ms. B!
      šŸ™‚

      • If I was that Larry, I would die from laughting. Even taking ticket šŸ™‚
        About fear of hight… now it’s much better, than in the past. But in the past… brrr
        I visited your space in the past, and I’ll repeat it with pleasure in the future:)

      • Lots of great opportunities hiding in the structures we build – you just showed one šŸ˜‰ Keep up the great work šŸ™‚

        I’m Martin, by the way – love to know your name cos you’re doing great work šŸ™‚

        • Thank you very much!
          My name is Robert… or Bob… or, well… I’ve been called lots of names, really (and not all of them flattering)!
          Thank you so much for visiting and for your very kind comments, Martin! I really do appreciate it! You are doing so as well!
          šŸ™‚

  5. Miau!! I am Spanish so I say Miau!! I don’t care, miau, if your photos are upside up, or downside down, or downside up, or upside down or… even sideways to the left, or sideways to the right– They are always downright Miau Great!!
    šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

