Grain Bin

I was a bit surprised how many people correctly guessed ‘grain bin’ in Friday’s cryptic post! I mean, Laura nailed it in the very first comment, and Lenore was quick to follow! As were Juana and Robert (although I suspect they had a little help from Google – cheeky monkeys)! 😉 Many more folks were on the right track, too… good work, everyone! I’m impressed!

This challenge is now officially in the can… or the bin (so to speak).

About this image: digital photograph, highly modified to imitate an ambrotype

72 thoughts on “Grain Bin

  1. I love that this photo has a lot of energy and yet somehow is also dreamy. It kind of reminds me of The Wizard Of Oz. Which then makes me want to go see Wicked again. Which makes me wonder… when is Wicked coming back to the Fabulous Fox!? Okay, just fair warning, I’m feeling the urge to go sing Defying Gravity really loudly in the shower now… 😛

    • Whoa! I DID see it! Hahaha. . . That’s how much you had me fooled. 🙂

      By the way, I gave you the Liebster Blog Award, so hop over to my blog to read about it and pick it up. You certainly deserve it. Congratulations! 🙂

      • It was an extreme close up, so unless you live or have lived around grain bins I think it would be pretty tough to guess!

        Oh, man… this could go to my head in a hurry! Wait a minute, this isn’t one of those things where I have to send $300.00 to someplace I’ve never heard of before, is it? Seriously, though, thank you very, very much Ms. F!
        🙂

    • Thank you very much, N.M.!
      I used to go by this grain bin all the time and FINALLY managed to get a few photos… I’d still like to take a few more under different conditions, though!
      🙂

  2. Me don’t know grain bins… 😦 I wouldn’t have guessed that in a million years. Even now…I would guess, ‘fallout shelter’.

    Why did you decide to reverse the image?

    • Duck and cover! Duck and cover!

      I was trying to replicate a wet plate positive / ambrotype in this one, M.P. – that’s why the image is reversed (I was wondering if anyone would notice that!).

      I really, really want to do this for realsies A.S.A.P., though. This faking collodion just isn’t cutting it… the real things are just to incredible. I’ve decided it’s going to happen… it’s only a matter of time. 🙂

    • Absolutely, U.M…
      I wouldn’t guess there are many Grain Bins in N.Y.C.! But that’s only fair… you’ve got too much amazing subject matter the way it is. Combine that with your talent and it’s almost depressing for me! 🙂

    • I was trying to replicate an old wet plate photograph with this one, U.M… so that’s why things look a bit… um… runny.
      I’m really, really hoping to be able to make some real ambrotypes some day (with a late 1800’s era lens – maybe something with a bit of a swirly bokeh). So… you know… if you’ve got one that you’re looking to throw out… please keep me in mind.
      🙂

  3. Cool final picture, SIG. I didn’t read all the comments, so my apologies if you’ve already addressed this… I notice the words are backwards in this shot, but I didn’t think the words were backwards in the ‘guess what it is’ shot.

    • In today’s post I’m trying to replicate the look of a wet plate (ambrotype), which is why I mirrored the image. Friday’s post was meant to replicate a different alternative process.
      Great eye, Ms. D!
      🙂

  4. I didn’t expect anyone to get this one, Megan… it was very cryptic. Although, I thought there might be a slight chance it would be recognized by someone who Would Plow 500 Miles…
    🙂

    • 1.welcome back, B.D!
      2.i don’t doubt that for a hot minute!
      3.touche (also, I believe this is the first booya anyone has dropped on me in some time… I was totally unprepared for this contingency)!
      🙂

  5. well my guess was something that held ammunition because i thought it looked like a wooden box . now that i know what it is can i have another guess? “-)

    • I guess I was fairly happy with this one…
      I figure if I make enough of them sooner or later one is bound to work a bit better than the rest!
      Thank you very much for your kind comment, sir!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

