Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

The leaves haven’t changed all that much here yet, so I decided to post a different take on this weeks theme (yet again).

The above was taken at Amnicon Falls State Park. Which is in Wisconsin. Which reminds me of cheese. And That 70’s show. And the Green Bay Packers (which is unfortunate, because I’m a Vikings fan).

Red Forman: “Dear Lord, would it kill you to give the Packers a winning season? Oh, and uh, watch over my loving family, blah blah blah… ”

– Kurtwood Smith – That 70’s Show

About this image: digital photograph heavily modified to replicate wet plate collodion

94 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

    • You should look on Google images or Flickr, N.M… I think you’d love them. Basically it’s:
      a photographic process from the late 1800’s +/-. Collodion is a binder which was poured on glass, and then dipped in silver nitrate (which is photosensitive). That plate was then (in darkness) placed into a camera and exposed and processed/fixed (usually in under 10 minutes because the process won’t work once the collodion hardens).
      A lot of those photographs were taken with amazing old lenses that produced beautiful blurs, or bokehs. In addition, things like fingerprints, dust, issues with chemistry, ‘improper’ development would often produce artifacts that were unwanted at the time, but that resulted in some wonderful effects…
      πŸ™‚

  1. Very moody, I like it a lot! Makes me wonder also how you get the effect. I love old photographs and spend lots of time looking at books about the history of photography. It always amazes me how the photographers back then got these stunning effects with the simplest equipment.

    • Do you happen to use Photoshop? If you ever wonder about what I’ve done over here I would be very happy to answer any questions about it!
      I do the same thing – I often look at old photos (and then try to replicate them as best I can with the tools I have available). Some day I’d love to work with the actual old processes, though… it would be almost too much fun!
      πŸ™‚

  2. I was a Vikings fan for the last two season because Brett played for them. I have now went back to my beloved Packers and will never leave again.

    Sorry for your lost yesterday. You guys had that one. πŸ™‚

    • To tell you the truth I haven’t been able to keep up the past few years
      (without being able to watch the Vikings on local TV)… which is kind of a bummer.
      Or well, it would have seemed blasphemous to see Brett in purple, anyway. πŸ˜‰

    • Now that I live in STL I haven’t been able to see many Vikings games (sadly).
      It’s so bizarre, because I used to watch every game (when it was on local TV).
      Thank you so much, Dishy!
      πŸ™‚

    • That is very kind of you, S.F… thank you!
      It actually was a pretty flat photo, (the lighting wasn’t the best when we were there), so I was hoping some smoke and mirrors might help out a bit.
      πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Theme ~ Fall « Spirit Lights The Way

  4. I’d hate to tube down that waterfall.
    That’d be my luck.
    Do I detect a slight amount of ‘fish-eyed’ around the edges?
    Maybe it’s the melting effect.
    The water seems to almost sway with the melting.
    Great photo!

    • Hahaha… there aren’t enough floaties in the world to get me into that river!
      Good eye, sir! I did a bit of a rotation blur in a sorry attempt to replicate an 1800’s era lens!
      Thank you so much!
      πŸ™‚

  5. So lovely! And it seems like a great take on “fall”. I wouldn’t mind being there again right now. Not in the slightest… πŸ˜›

    • Water is so cool… I’d like to do some evening shots for super long exposures at some point, too… (my daytime / neutral density filter stuff isn’t really doing it)!
      Thanks, U.M. – I was trying to replicate the look of a late 1800’s era lens with a ‘swirly bokeh’ (until I can finance a real one, anyway)!
      πŸ™‚

    • This is a digital photo I edited in Photoshop to replicate (as best I could) the look of an old wet plate collodion photograph.
      Thank you so much for your kind comment, H.G.! I appreciate it very much!
      πŸ™‚

  6. hi s dinky thanks for visit lol my dog heidi used to drink from the loo until her legs got bad she always had fresh water down too and if in the garden she would drink from the slimey pond yuk alls good with me now lol have a great week xxjen

  7. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: FALL « Post A Day 2011 | Wordpress Challenge

  8. I think this is one of my favorites of your photos. I can almost feel the movement of the water.
    What’s this about the Vikings?

    • I’m not sure about that, Y.P…
      the day I took this was the only time I’ve visited this park…
      I would guess you are right, though – it probably changes quite a bit depending on the season, etc.
      Thank you very much!
      πŸ™‚

  9. NOW THIS I ABSOLUTELY LOVED! The waterfall is so amazing… And that person on the left- almost not there… WOW! I WENT WOW when I saw it.
    Beautiful Rob!

    • You are too kind, Juana – thank you!
      I was trying to recreate the look of an old wet plate photograph with this one…
      I would love to do the real thing some day, but until then I’ll do my best to fake a few!
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

