Hesburgh Library, University of Notre Dame

Here are some random flowers I photographed outside the Hesburgh Library at the University of Notre Dame. There is a reflection pool just beyond these plantings, but I had to crop it out as this entrance was being worked on during our visit and there was construction ‘stuff’ everywhere. Even with the  low vantage point I  had to airbrush out high-reach equipment, etc. Oh well. Good excuse to go back… right?!

Byron ‘Buster’ Bluth (*describing his new construction job*): “…I like it here… and the language these guys use… rough! One of the guys told me to take my head out of my bottom and get back to work! (*cackling laughter*) My bottom!”

Tony Hale – Arrested Development

About this image: digital photograph, lightly modified

62 thoughts on “Hesburgh Library, University of Notre Dame

  1. I also like the color thing you did. Pulling the pink out of The Mines of Moria in a way but only to compare. It’s almost a foreign cluttered vertical pinball Japanese… thing that the pickers found. Awesome!

    • That is very kind of you to say, sir, thank you!
      Hahaha… 31 years old and still trying working on ‘coloring in the lines’…
      some day I’m gonna nail it…
      I can just feel it!
      🙂

    • It is, indeed, Spectra! Good eye! From the ND website::
      ‘…From a technical perspective, Professor Winkler wrote about the mural saying that “Millard Sheet’s painting was converted into a mosaic by the Cold Spring Granite Company. … The mural is composed of 324 panels, of which 189 are precast panel units. The remaining 135 are solid granite and Mankato stone, used for background panels. In all, 81 different stones, in 171 finishes, and from 16 countries, were used in fabrication. … The following kinds of stone were utilized: 46 granites and syenites; 10 gabros and labradorites; 4 metamorphic gneisses; 12 serpentines; 4 crystalline marbles; and 5 limestones.”…’

      🙂

    • Thank you very much, Ms. D!
      I wish there would have been just a little less ‘stuff’ behind those flowers… just not quite enough information to do a good job of ‘rebuilding’ the entrance (for me, anyway) … oh well.
      🙂

    • Thanks very much, Dishy!
      Annabelle and I were there over the summer, so there didn’t seem to be many people roaming about. Which probably also explains the construction, I guess!
      🙂

    • That is very kind of you, Mel!
      Fortunately once I got this low most of the ‘stuff’ was already taken care of. I only had to take out a random boom/bucket and a few other things like that.
      🙂

    • It was a great show, Meagan! I think you’d like it (great characters/dialogue… and the writers managed to tie so many details together)… it’s very funny.
      Hahaha… flower(s)?! Huh?!
      🙂

  2. Sometimes, it just is necessary to take things out of a photo to make it match what we want it to. Since, umm, people are so rude as to do work around where we want to shoot. 🙂 Great image. 🙂

  3. Nice photo Inky! Love the posies! I also didn’t get over here but I wanted to say that the General’s photo below is outstanding…I like how that turned out!

Leave a Reply

