Fresh Fruit

You might be thinking, “Is that… a little… um…” Well, maybe. But it’s completely made-up, so you get to create your own narrative. Which is more fun anyway. Right?

Ned Plimpton: “You don’t know me. You never wanted to know me. I’m just a character in your film.”

Steve Zissou: “It’s a documentary. It’s all really happening.”

Ned Plimpton: “Well, d**n you for that.”

Owen Wilson and Bill Murray – The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou

About this image: Replicated supermarket ad created in Adobe Illustrator then printed, stained, distressed and collaged on 16″x16″ canvas – large text painted in acrylic and distressed – figure and fruit painted in acrylic – sides painted in white crackle/distressed acrylic with some torn bits of ad and painted text wrapping around

113 thoughts on “Fresh Fruit

  1. I can’t imagine pineapples making anyone that happy, so I’m just going to assume she’s about to toss the pineapples into the air in celebration of some good news.

    • I’m very happy to hear that, Mr. B…
      (the original idea was something with the feel of a snapshot that might have been jokingly taken at a roadside fruit stand or something along those lines)…
      🙂

    • I’m so happy to hear that, thank you!
      I created the collage in the background in Adobe Illustrator. Then I printed out several copies, (stained them), tore them up and collaged them on top of each other (then I tinted them a bit). The red and blue text is acrylic, as is the figure and the fruit. This one’s been on my list for a very long time, so I was happy to finally get somewhere with it!
      🙂

      • Oh wow! You know, I continuously forget how much wonderful work can be created through or in part by Adobe and other software. It’s something I’ve been thinking of trying, but never really have yet….. This picture is serving as a reminder.

      • Yeah, this is great! Soft edges, bold colors, texture, simple yet dynamic composition 😀 Makes we want to kick my own a$$ and get back to work on a canvas again… fun fun post.

        • That is very kind of you to say, Spectra! Thank you!
          I had a fairly specific idea in mind for this one (I usually do, I guess), so that seemed to help me quite a bit. Well, that and a lot of sketching.
          Digital is great, but there’s just something special about getting your hands dirty every now and then, too!
          I really hope that you do… I’d love to see more of your awesome work, Spectra!
          🙂

    • I should probably give them a try before I judge them… but still… need to work up some courage first!
      Indeed!
      Thank you very much, Dishy! I thought the gray helped the images stand out a bit more, so I’m kind of excited about that!
      🙂

  2. What is it about pineapple this morning? I needed a can for a recipe, but the cupboard was bare; so I resorted to reading blogs, and this is the first one I see. The pineapple has a long-standing reputation of hospitality and friendship. Obviously, someone she was very happy to see returned from a long voyage to the islands bearing gifts. I need someone to bring me a pineapple…
    Love the colorful fun of this.

    • Hahaha… it must be pineapple Monday!
      I know that feeling… it’s the worst to be all set to make something only to find out a key ingredient is missing! Only (sadly), I usually don’t notice that until after I’ve started mixing everything else together!
      I hope some pineapple arrives very shortly!
      🙂

  3. I’d didn’t think I’d ever get here! Wow! I was missing a lot too!…Look at all these comments already!
    This is a wonderful piece of art, Bob! For a change I actually have somewhat of an idea of what you are talking about…This was a lot of work!…Excellent!!

    Have a great day, and my best to Annabelle!

    Deb xx

    • You are far too kind, Lynn… thank you!
      I’m not sure about that, although I’m willing to take just about anything and try to, anyway.
      The fun is in the ‘attempt’, I guess.
      🙂

  4. I love this! It also reminds me of a song…you know the one about the fruit. she looks like she is singing it. Great image and I love your style 🙂

    • Ha! Whoever it was must have moved the switch, too!
      Thank you so much, sir! It was a lot of work (and kind of frustrating at times), but, at the same time, this was a lot of fun, too!
      🙂

  5. this reminds me a bit of Shel Silverstein’s poem, “Spaghetti”, but for the hard of hearing. You must have heard it. The original goes like this:
     
    Spaghetti, spaghetti, all over the place,
    Up to my elbows—up to my face,
    Over the carpet and under the chairs,
    Into the hammock and wound round the stairs,
    Filling the bathtub and covering the desk,
    Making the sofa a mad mushy mess.
     
    The party is ruined, I’m terribly worried,
    The guests have all left (unless they’re all buried).
    I told them, “Bring presents.” I said, “Throw confetti.”
    I guess they heard wrong
    ‘Cause they all threw spaghetti!
     
    only in this case it is pineapple that is being thrown. i guess it’s time to duck!

    • Hahaha…
      that’s awesome, P&K! It’s been so long since I’ve heard that one (I had completely forgotten about it)!
      And good call, too… seems like it might be wise to duck and cover! A pineapple upside the head might leave a mark!
      🙂

  6. Yes a likely story, I can see the inspiration
    for this offering and yes I do like it, actually
    I like it a lot… I even like your artistry on it

    Of course, like your artistic wickedness…
    I am more than likely being a tad wicked 🙂

    What were we talking about again? 🙂 😉 lol

    Have a great Tuesday Sig and keep adding
    these gems…

    Androgoth

    • Hahaha… I’ve got to keep everyone on their toes, you know! I’d hate for anyone to fall asleep with the refrigerator door open (sounds like a good way to catch a bad cold)!

      Ha! Blast! Has my motivation been discovered? I guess this one isn’t very subtle, is it?!

      Thank you so very much, A.G.! I hope you have a wonderful Tuesday as well, sir!
      🙂

  7. This really is Laugh-Out-Loud funny! And after reading the comments, I’m literally rolling! AND, to top it off, the artwork is amazing. AND, I can’t stop laughing. Wonderful sense of humor. Incredible art work. Fantastic post. I’ll be smiling all day. 😀

    • It’s funny, the danger-o-the pineapple hadn’t occurred to me before I started this (maybe it’s because I’m not a huge fan and don’t have them around that often). Then I was looking them over at the grocery store and it finally dawned on me, ‘hey, these things ‘is’ rough’!
      Hahaha… I suppose there is a bit of that in there. Maybe.
      🙂

    • Thank you so much, Mary!
      I love collage, too… but I always love other peoples’ (such as yourself) collages much more than mine! It’s always such a trick to mix in ephemera in a way that seems naturally ‘random’. It’s a lot of fun, but I really struggle with it. Anyway, I have a few more ideas like this floating around.
      🙂

  8. I thought I’d commented already but perhaps I decided that my initial response needed moderating 😉 i suspect she may be a prickly customer. It’s a great piece of artwork – well done 🙂

  9. Very creative. Excellent work (somehow piece would have the wrong connotation). The image certainly has one pining for the tropical zone of the hemispheres. 🙂

    • Thank you very much, Ms. B! It took a bit of time to make the jar, but it was a lot of fun, too!
      I’m happy to hear you like the theme… I think the colors compliment images a bit more…
      🙂

Leave a Reply

