Confluence Tower

Need an aerial view of the Mississippi and Missouri rivers? Enter the 50, 100 and 150 ft observation decks of the Lewis and Clark Confluence Tower … pretty cool. I’d recommend visiting on a warm day, though. It’s a bit windy 150 feet up in the air. Who’d have thunk it?

Dr. Evil: “I’m gonna’ get you, Austin Powers! It’s friggin’ freezing in here, Mr. Bigglesworth!”

Mr. Bigglesworth: “Meeeeeewwwwwwww…”

– Mike Myers – Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery

About this image: digital photograph, lightly modified

101 thoughts on “Confluence Tower

  1. I’d never heard of Confluence Tower before. It seems like a really unusual structure — a lot of tower for a relatively small amount of usable viewing space.

    • I hadn’t either, Laura! Annabelle came up with the info at some point… from somewhere. I think she might have driven past it before? Anyway, it’s a pretty unique structure, I think!
      🙂

    • I’m not big on heights, either, N.M… it wasn’t as bad as you might think, though… (the railings / guard rails went WAY up, and the tower on either side made things seem a bit more ‘enclosed’, too.
      🙂

    • The good news is that you get to take an elevator up (and back down again)… so that helps a bit… I think. Even though the guard rails go up very high it still made me a bit nervous to get to close to them…
      🙂

    • That’s very cool, sir… I didn’t know that! I used to work for an architectural firm! 🙂
      Here are a few random facts I found from the towers website:

        64 piers/pilings support the Tower, averaging 65′ to 85′ in depth to bedrock.
        20,599 cubic yards of concrete were used to build the towers, or approximately 3,433 concrete truck loads.
        Approximately 17 miles of reinforcing bars can be found in the foundation and structure.
        On a clear day, visitors can see downtown St. Louis and the Gateway Arch, which is 19 miles south of the Tower.
  2. I’ve never knew of that tower till now…Look very high up there. I don’t know if I could breath up there.
    I love the things you find to take shots of, Bob!….You always rise my interests.
    Hugs, xx

  3. Wow, so they really built that solely for feeling “the same EXCITEMENT of Captains Meriwether Lewis and William Clark as they began their westward voyage”? I like tourist stuff for tourist stuff’s sake.

    I’m pretty mad at you for not showing a picture of what you saw from up there, but I guess I appreciate your not-giving-me-what-I-want-ness.

    • Hahaha… well, either that, or to ensure they used up all the ‘touristy stuff’ budget that year, I guess!
      The shots I took up there were even more lackluster than usual (maybe it was the cold… or lack of oxygen… or… something). Anyway, the car looked pretty tiny from up there. I can tell you that much.
      🙂

    • Hahaha… I hear you, Ms. N!
      It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, though.
      Part of that might have been the weather … the cold took my mind off our relative position above terra firma (for a while, anyway)!
      🙂

    • Or get dizzy and fall off… or the wind will do the job…
      I hear you, Mel!
      Those railings go WAY up though… you would literally have to climb up and over them to fall off (I still felt a bit queasy about approaching them, though).
      🙂

  4. This is the first time I’ve heard of, or seen the confluence Tower. Pretty amazing considering the heights you mentioned.
    your interesting viewpoint and shot make me want to visit.
    Good work SIG, as always!

    • I hadn’t heard of it before this visit, either…
      it was pretty cool, though (although to tell you the truth I was a bit more impressed by the structure than the view – but I’m pretty sure that’s just me…)
      🙂

    • Thank you so much, S.E.!
      I was fairly happy with the colors… for some reason this reminds me a bit of photos I’ve seen of that luxury hotel in Dubai (maybe that influenced my pumping up the warm-tones so much)…
      🙂

    • It was pretty high-up there, but surprisingly not quite as bad as I thought it might be! I think the two towers really help give a sense of ‘enclosure’. Well, that and the giant guard rails!
      🙂

    • Ha!
      Every time I think of Chevy Chase I automatically go to ‘Caddyshack’
      (one of my all-time favorites)!
      ‘Don’t be obsessed with your desires Danny. The Zen philosopher Basha once wrote, ‘A flute with no holes, is not a flute. A donut with no hole, is a Danish.’ He was a funny guy.’
      🙂

  5. Nice perspective and framing on that shot.

    I’d never heard of that tower, either. I suspect they wouldn’t take kindly to my launching a rocket or two from the upper deck.

    • Thanks so much, sir
      (I had to lean up against a flagpole but despite a few odd looks it seemed to help out a bit)!
      Hahaha… yeah, all rockets are probably restricted to the second level and below…
      🙂

      • I used to feel quite self conscious when aware that people were giving me strange looks as I was taking photos but I’m really happy to report that I don’t even notice them anymore, even when I’m contorted into strange positions. I even caught someone photographing me as I was trying (unsucessfully) to capture my feet splashing in a puddle and I merely laughed as he dashed off smiling,

      • I used to feel quite self conscious when aware that people were giving me strange looks as I was taking photos but I’m really happy to report that I don’t even notice them anymore, even when I’m contorted into strange positions. I even caught someone photographing me as I was trying (unsucessfully) to capture my feet splashing in a puddle and I merely laughed as he dashed off smiling.

        • I still tend to feel a bit self conscious about it…
          luckily most of the stuff I take tends to be in fairly isolated places / situations, so there are fewer people witnessing me rolling about on the floor / ground. Well, luckily and NOT luckily, I guess… if there were more people around that might mean some street stuff, which I love… so… there is a trade-off there, I guess.
          🙂

    • I hear you, Mr. B!
      Believe it or not it’s not as bad as you’d think…
      I’m not even a fan of short ladders, but this didn’t bother me nearly as much as I’d expected (until I got right up to the guard rails, anyway).
      🙂

    • I’m even more weireded out, because I only live 30 miles away from this thing (give or take), and I had NO idea! I should probably get out more. But that would make it difficult to watch more Austin Powers!
      🙂

    • You never know, YAW… I’m not good with heights, either, but I’d much sooner go up there than climb a 6 ft. step ladder… it’s kind of strange, that way. I think the towers help you feel a bit more ‘enclosed’… and that really seems to help a lot.
      🙂

  6. Okay let’s go right to the top on this one SIG 🙂
    This is a great photogrph by the way…

    Keep it wicked now, you know it;s the best way 😉

    Androgoth

    • Hahaha…
      interestingly… they usually stop the elevator on the lowest deck, then the middle, and the highest is saved for the ‘grand finale’, but someone pushed the wrong button and we did go right to the top very first thing!
      I’ll do my best, A.G.!
      Thank you, sir!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

