Bearman Cartoons Charity Challenge 2012

Cartoon legend Bearman is once again holding his famous charity challenge. Basically, in exchange for other folks posting about his challenge, etc. Bearman donates his very own hard earned cash to some wonderful charities (such as the Cincinnati FreeStore Foodbank, the Down Syndrome Association of Greater Cincinnati and Crayons to Computers).

You’ve likely been entertained by Bearman for years and will recognize my cryptic reference to his work in the above photo. If not, I bet you’d like to take a look at his pop-culture / political cartoons while you find out (hint hint)!? Either way, you’ll be entertained by a very generous and talented dude.

Finally… I have known Bearman for a several years now, and he is nothing but supportive of folks all over the web (even if they’ve implemented major content changes – which doesn’t always happen, but is always very appreciated)!

And now he can’t say I never do anything for him (you should see the looks a guy like me gets when buying wheat grass)!

About this image: digital photograph, lightly modified

83 thoughts on “Bearman Cartoons Charity Challenge 2012

    • That’s so nice to hear, Nancy! Thank you!
      I’ve always thought there’s just something ‘clean and elegant’ about grass… seemed like it would be almost wrong to do ‘too much’ with it.
      🙂

  1. Off to visit the Bearman but I’m not sure about that sweet, innocent refreshing looking wheat grass after Byronic Man’s torrid tale . . . great shot SiG!

  2. There must be some secret about Bear I’m unaware of because that image leaves me clueless, although I adore it…so clean and fresh looking, I can almost smell it! ( love the smell of freshly cut grass)

    • It’s a pretty abstract reference, J.G… just trying to represent his avatar’s green hair.
      Oh, thank you! I really like that smell, too! Someone is actually mowing the lawn across from us and my window is open right now so I get to take advantage of that (without any actual work)!
      🙂

    • Thanks, Red!
      I’ve been wanting to take a photo like this for a while, but when I saw Bearman was holding his charity challenge it’s the first idea that popped into my head!
      🙂

  3. GREAT picture SIG. You are amazing. I never know what medium you will choose nor will I ever understand how you have conquered the challenges of so many!

    Off to Bearman’s site (catching up slowly) to check out his charity post. He is not only a fine artist but as you said, his charity drives prove what an even finer human being the man is.
    Thanks for sharing this. Will be posting for his cause as well.
    Be good SIG 😉

    • Aw, thank you very much, Ms. B!
      I never know, either! I try to mix things up – although the photography tends to get posted most as many of my other projects seem to take me FOREVER to complete.
      Very cool! I’m looking forward to checking that out! I’m sure Bearman is, too – and I know he’ll appreciate it!
      🙂

  4. Sooooooo do we have to mow the grass to find him
    or shoot prunes and hope that one doesn’t hit him? 🙂
    Well I only asked 🙂 lol

    I think that his generosity for these charities is brilliant…

    Have a great evening SIG and I like your wheat-grass
    it is very green, green and greener than the greenest of
    wheat grasses I have ever seen 🙂 Excellent support…

    Sorry that I am late to see this one, I have turned off the
    e mails for postings, comments, replies and everything
    else to do with the inbox ridiculousness so now I am just
    relying on my own blogroll to see what everyone is up to

    Be good now SIG or else
    the Zombies will be calling in 😦 lol

    Androgoth

    • I hear you, Andro! That’s how I tend to visit folks as well.
      The thing about all those notifications is that they pile-up so fast it becomes difficult for me to focus on what I’m actually looking at… too much ‘stuff’ for me to make sense of it all. I wind up deleting things before I even know what I’ve sent to the trash!

      Hahaha… thank you so much, sir! It has had a little help, but for the most part it was pretty green to start with (I tried to take the photo as soon as possible to preserve that).

      Thanks again, A.G.! I hope you have a good one, too!
      I’ll stay on the look-out for those pesky Zombies!
      🙂

      • I will be calling in rather often and hope that I can catch your postings earlier than this, by the way you have one of those Spaces that really interests and your artistic talents never fail to please, I mean one only has to look at all of your many comments to see that 🙂

        Have a fine rest of day and a wicked evening SIG 🙂

        Androgoth

        • Thank you so much, sir!
          Hahaha… mostly pity comments, A.G.! But I’ll take that! I always sincerely appreciate each and every one!
          I hope you are having a wonderful day as well, Andro!
          🙂

    • Thank you very much, Nancy!
      I’ve been meaning to do something like this for a while, but when Bearman’s challenge came up it’s the first thing that popped into my mind.
      🙂

  5. Pingback: Editorial Cartoon: Attachment Parenting | Bearman Cartoons

Leave a Reply

