Coffee Maker Bits

Recently discovered: coffee makers contain bits-n-pieces that are fun to photograph. Even if said machine does little to improve upon the taste of a glass of Coke. Have a great weekend, everyone!

Charlie Mackenzie: “Excuse me, miss… there seems to be a mistake… I believe I ordered the large cappuccino. HELLO!Ā  Look at the size of this thing!”

– Mike Myers – So I Married an Axe Murderer

About this image: digital photograph (Canon 300D) lightly modified (and slightly over-cooked)Ā  in Adobe Photoshop

89 thoughts on “Coffee Maker Bits

  1. I had to go back to the photo after reading some comments, to see the artistic values of light and drama, which is why comments are often so key (thank you, folks with art-eyes), because this shot brought me back immediately to my hope-filled 20s on some other Autumn day when I inherited my mom’s percolator with a basket probably identical to this one. SIG, what a nice feeling. I’m probably too old to say, “Wow, this is cool!” but, wow –this is cool! šŸ™‚

    • Oh – thank you so very much, C.O.B! One of the nicest things to hear from someone is that they can relate to an image… or that it brought back some memory for them (hopefully a good one)… so this really means a lot! I sincerely appreciate that!
      Hahaha… and, well, if dropping an over-aged ‘cool-bomb’ works for me, it should work for others, too, I say! Thank you again!
      šŸ™‚

    • Thanks much, Ms. C! I’m happy to hear that, because that’s exactly what drew me to this. I was was attempting to wash the thing and held it up to the light for closer inspection when it struck me. Like a gallon of sudsy water.
      šŸ™‚

  2. Is there anything you take a shot of that does not turn out interesting? I love this, it’s a very unique photo, Sig! šŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend! šŸ™‚ xo

      • So you really are a deep thinker… šŸ™‚ Just kidding, I just left from replying to your on the Binky post, and couldn’t resist since you left the opportunity open for me with what you here. And I’m sure that the machine is working much better now, now that your got er all cleaned up too….Have a great weekend, Sig! šŸ™‚ xo

        • Hahaha… well played, Deb! Yeah… not too much deep thinking around here, really. Lots of caffeine and snack breaks, though – so that has to count for something, right?! šŸ˜‰
          Thanks so much, Deb! I hope that you have a wonderful weekend as well!!!
          šŸ™‚

    • Hahaha…
      I knew I should have a included ‘fine’ print disclaimer:
      *Actual coffee maker contents may vary… your coffee maker might not contain everything seen here… some ‘bits’ sold separately.*
      šŸ™‚

  3. OK, I’ve pulled my coffee machine apart and I can’t find a number 2 anywhere . OK, it wasn’t actually my coffee machine but can someone give me instructions on how rebuild the damn thing before the neighbors get home?

    • Thanks, Binky!
      And try not to worry too much… this part was much too small for any Wombies to wander into, so I think you should be just fine. And, if not, I’ll be happy to let you out A.S.A.P!
      šŸ™‚

    • Hahaha… ask me what this was in a few years and I probably wouldn’t, either! And I took the photo! Which is to say it’s pretty abstracted, I guess… so I wouldn’t worry about that!
      Thank you so much, Mary! And the very same to you!
      šŸ™‚

    • Hahaha… well… I’m not sure if that’s having a great eye or just… um… an ‘interesting’ way of looking at random stuff. But I’ll take the kindness in your comment over my assessment any day. Thanks so much, Madame!
      šŸ™‚

  4. Do you realize how much talent you really have and what it is. Artists, comic creators, writers, spend hours drawin’, writin’ , paintin’, and agonizing with words and maybe on a good day they get 5 or 6 people to comment. You take a picture of a percolator and it turns our so awesome that you get dozens of people to comment on it. Now that is talent my good friend. Mostly it is because of you being downright awesome.

    • Aw, man… that’s incredibly kind of you to say, Bo… I sincerely appreciate that, sir… very much!
      The folks who stop by here are the best to be found anywhere… I’m not sure how I lucked out like that, but I’m sure happy about it! I always appreciate each and every comment… I know how busy most people are these days… so it really does mean a lot!
      šŸ™‚

    • Thank you, sir!
      Sometimes I’m kind of surprised by the kind of texture(s) you can pull out of metals / glass, etc… surfaces I tend to think of as being typically flat/smooth.
      šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

