Coffin of The Singer of Amun, Henut-Wedjebu (1390-1353 B.C.)

One nice thing about camera phones is increased flexibility when reaching up/over the top of plexiglass enclosures. Because you never know when you might run into the lovely Singer of Amun.

Indiana Jones: “Meet me at Omar’s. Be ready for me. I’m going after that truck.”

Sallah: “How?”

Indiana Jones: “I don’t know, I’m making this up as I go!”

– Harrison Ford & John Rhys-Davies – Raiders of the Lost Ark

About this image: digital photograph taken and modified with smart phone (minimally re-touched in Photoshop)

88 thoughts on “Coffin of The Singer of Amun, Henut-Wedjebu (1390-1353 B.C.)

    • I thought so too, Ms. K! Thank you!
      Hahaha… it was a bit of a ‘maneuver’… I tried to wait until the room was fairly empty, because I’m sure my balancing act looked a bit… ‘unusual’, to say the least!
      πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, Deb!
      This one is the real thing, too! Pretty cool, right?! It’s actually the property of a Washington University here in St. Louis but it’s more or less on permanent loan to the Art Museum (I’m guessing it’s a space issue, maybe?).
      Anyway, I’m happy to hear you liked it! I hope you have a wonderful week as well, my friend!
      πŸ™‚

  1. She looks great other than that skin problem.
    Oh wait. It’s a mummy. Sorry forgot to read all the blog.
    Just kiddin’ Robert. Great photo. You know I can’t be serious long. That’s why I can’t use satelite radio. It’s name is Sirius.

  2. I can just picture you climbing up
    to take the picture Indiana Jones style,
    I just hope that you didn’t lose your
    hat on the way down, noooooooooo
    not your party hat, I mean your Indiana
    one, mind you I think that the Nymph’s
    would enjoy a good whip round later
    on in the evening, just don’t let your
    sweet wife catch you or else? 😦 lmao

    Androgoth

    • Hahaha… well, you know… I might have exaggerated things a TINY bit…
      but… I could have knocked something over… and… that would have been pretty bad, right?!
      But don’t worry… either way I made sure my hat was properly secured! I mean… every explorer has his priorities, right?! Hilarious comment, Andro! Too funny, sir!
      πŸ™‚

    • Hahaha… very true! It’s all about marketing, I guess!
      Agreed! There were several other similar artifacts that were equally interesting… but this was the only gilded piece… and… well… it’s just so shiny!
      πŸ™‚

  3. I am always a wee bit surprised when I see a shot this good taken with a phone. Even when I do it myself. After years of lugging around equipment of all kinds I amazed at what can be accomplished with the camera in my phone. Great work.

    • Agreed, Ms. G…
      technology is improving SO quickly! It would be nice to have a bit more creative control, etc… but for all those times it’s not practical to lug around a DSLR it’s nice to have a capable camera with you at all times and ready to go!

  4. Lovely capture, SIG . . . glad that the museum guards didn’t wrestle you to the ground. Indiana Jones is the perfect quote for the post, given the antiquities involved. πŸ˜€

    • Hahaha… indeed! I had to employ my best stealh-mode (a.k.a. ‘are they looking now? are they looking now?’)!
      Seriously, though… our museum is good about allowing photography (just as long as you don’t use a tripod, flash or wonder into a new/special exhibit). Which is very nice!
      πŸ™‚

  5. On a guy with a love for ancient Egypt and an affection for contemporary Egypt, your Singer of Amun photo leaves an indelible impression. Thanks for making the stretch.

    • Which would save her from the inevitable, “MOM! It’s so totally not, like… the 1400’s B.C. anymore!”
      *I guess she probably wouldn’t have used a B.C. reference but… well… it seems like there would have been so much math involved otherwise!*
      πŸ™‚

    • Many thanks, Martin!
      I thought filling the frame with mummy might be kind of fun… definitely something that would have been a real trick with my other camera as there’s no way I could look through my viewfinder and get anywhere near perpendicular with the top of the case (without doing some ‘mission impossible’ style ceiling repelling, anyway)! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

