Luther Tower

luther_tower

One of my favorite phone-camera shots yet… I was almost happy my DSLR battery died. Still, keep those batteries fully charged, people (and by people I mean… you know… me).

Scout Master Ward (of Mr. Bishop’s bruises): “What happened to him?”

Becky: “I’m not sure. I think he went searching in the dark.”

Mr. Bishop: “She stole the batteries out of my flashlight.”

– Edward Norton, Marianna Bassham & Bill Murray – Moonrise Kingdom

About this image: digital photograph taken and modified with smart phone (minimally edited in Photoshop)

100 thoughts on “Luther Tower

    • Thank you so very much, Madame!
      And the best part about the low vantage point is there is significantly less parking lot! Which… you know… helps with the creepiness. A bit, anyway.
      πŸ™‚

  1. Is this the seminary in St.Louis? I’ve been there and heard an incredibly interesting story about the REAL story behind the Exorcist – do you know that they attempted to perform an exorcism in that very tower? Sorry – I don’t want to be rude or scary or morbid, but it is a fascinating story…

    • This is the Concordia Seminary in St. Louis… good eye!
      I think I might have heard something like that just a little while ago…
      I’m pretty sure I dropped quite a few ‘Really(s)?’!!!
      No need to apologize, R.C!
      πŸ™‚

      • I had a tour by a guy at the seminary that was writing his thesis on Lutheran exorcism (which didn’t exist…part of his study was to write a liturgy for it – the exorcism performed at the seminary was unsuccessful, so they took the boy to a local Catholic hospital so the priests could step in). At the base of that tower was where they attempted, but only succeeded in making it angry – apparently, bottles flew across the room and smashed into the walls, etc… Very interesting story!! πŸ™‚

        • Wow – that really is… kind of… fascinating, R.C! I’m a bit embarrassed to admit I didn’t know any of that! And I’ve been running around over there (or in the park, anyway) quite often!
          I’m a bit used to bottles flying from my hand and into the floor (if that means anything). I think that might be more of a gravity issue, though. Well, that and a severe case-o-the butter-fingers!
          πŸ™‚

  2. Holy frick sauce, my camera battery lasts forever, which is semi-awesome, but also semi-horrible as it means I pretty much never pay attention to it and am then caught unaware when it dies and then I rent my garments in agony.

  3. Superb composition. Mysterious & nostalgic atmosphere.
    Now that you have shot the Luther Tower, you will have to do one of The Daily Planet Building. πŸ˜€

    • I wish I had a few more foggy days like that one was… SO many interesting (almost ready-made) options!
      Hahaha… didn’t Superman retire and start blogging? I thought I had heard something along those lines…
      πŸ™‚

  4. I just got a smartphone and I can’t even figure out how to answer the damn thing when it rings, let alone create “art” with it. Some people have all the talent – jeesh.

    • It LITERALLY took me… well, I’m not sure I want to actually reveal this… let’s just say it took me a long time to figure out how to answer this one, too, Peg. Of course the first thing I started playing around with was the camera. Priorities over here, you know.
      πŸ˜‰

  5. I like these misty effects SIG,
    all we need now is a Zombie
    scrambling over the brow of
    the hill and… Well, ruuuuun 😦

    Great work SIG πŸ™‚

    Androgoth

    • Hahaha… it did seem like that kind of atmosphere, Andro!
      I should really pay closer to the attention to conditions before I just go running amok like that…
      ‘Today’s forecast… a bit cool in the morning… spotty patches of fog and zombies likely…’
      Thanks so much, A.G!
      πŸ™‚

      • πŸ™‚ lol Hey it is freezing here at the moment
        a regular Jack Frost kind of day with a hint
        of brass monkeys πŸ˜‰ lol

        I am looking forward
        to your next masterpiece πŸ™‚

        Androgoth

        • Hahaha…
          I guess the weather is keeping everyone on their toes these days, Andro!
          Thank you so much! I’m not sure I’ll have a masterpiece… but… I hope to have something, anyway!
          πŸ™‚

          • Since finding your great Space I have always been treated to a wealth of artistry my great friend, you have so many talents and you offer them here with such a wicked brilliance, I am never disappointed put it that way πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Have a wondrously enjoyable day today SIG πŸ™‚

            Androgoth

          • Your continued support is always sincerely appreciated, Andro!
            It’s very inspiring… to know there are folks like you who are kind enough to put up with my shenanigans!
            Thank you again, sir… very, very much!
            πŸ™‚

  6. I’m late coming to the party on this one but, the low angle and the reeds immediately made me think of the English Fenlands and the way that Ely Cathedral stands tall above them. You may like this piece of Classical music by Vaughan Williams

    • I’m so very happy to hear you say that, Martin… because this one made me think England, too! It seems a bit strange to say that… a bit odd to say an image reminds me of a place I’ve not yet had the pleasure of visiting… but, I guess the ‘feelings’ here make me think of various associations I’ve made over the years… all that history… places that still feel as though they could be of another time/place, if that makes any sense?! Anyway… I’m rambling!
      Thanks for the link, too! I’m looking forward to checking it out! You always tip me off to the best stuff (that film about the postal train, for example)… wonderful!
      πŸ™‚

      • Your work gives you the right to ramble πŸ™‚ This Vaughan Williams piece fits with your image and the reaction it spurred in me. I think I need to do a post of my favorite Vaughan Williams works. I must try and encourage a love of the beauty of classical music… Not that we should give up on the heavy rock either πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

