Nucleus No. One

nucleus_no1

I was planning to share a photo today, but at the last minute I decided to re-process it. So, instead, here’s… another… nucleus (Nucleus No. Two here). Have a great weekend, everyone (I’m off to re-launch Photoshop).

Joel Barish: “Can you hear me? I don’t want this any more! I want to call it off!”

– Jim Carrey – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

About this image:  aluminum ground bolted to 8″x10″ canvas frame… background is gel medium transfer of blurred periodic table… charcoal portrait (gel medium transfer)… charcoal circles (gel medium transfer) represent electron orbitals… hand painted aluminum element symbol and atomic number (acrylic).

80 thoughts on “Nucleus No. One

  1. these are so clever. i just visited no 2 first, which is the other one that makes this a these, if that makes any sense. this no 1 – A1, no less, is really all that. love the details and the contrast within this piece. could see them hanging on a wall together somewhere, quite happily.
     
    enjoyed this start to 2013. although i will probably be wondering for the longest time why it was no2 that was posted first and why this second was is called no1….. It’s a blogging mystery.
     
    in any case thanks for sharing!

    • See, now that totally makes sense! To tell you the truth I was just abbreviating aluminum there, but I like that much better! Let’s just pretend like I had been clever enough to think of that, okay?!
      It’s funny you say that, P&K… I don’t hang a lot of things I make (plaster walls are kind of a pain), but these two are right next to each other!
      Hahaha… indeed! I just posted No. 2 first because I’m partial to the model. I was dragging my feet a bit on this one.
      🙂

      • how cool that they are together, plaster be hanged.
         
        and am glad you like the A1 interpretation. and although i realize that you were abbreviating copper on Annabelle’s portrait, it is also very probable that it could also stand for ‘how nice to c u’. and i am sure that subconsciously you really were clever enough to think of both, but sometimes saying less is more.
         
        urk. guess that’s my cue. outta here! 🙂

        • Hahaha… for the moment it’s hanging together… although I always fear the situation may… crumble!
          Absolutely! I think someone else might have noticed the ‘see you’ part, too, P&K! Consciously! Which impresses the heck out of me… I’m just not that good with ‘the words’, you know!
          Anyway, thank you so much! That’s very cool!
          🙂

      • Don’t be dragging your feet again, both are equally excellent
        and how wicked it is to see you, within art of your own making
        but still a very nice surprise 🙂 🙂 Great work as always SIG 🙂

        Androgoth

        • Hahaha… but I excel at dragging my feet, Andro!
          To tell you the truth I debated ever even posting this one, but I knew that if I did you would be incredibly kind about it, as you have been, my friend! Thanks so much, A.G!
          🙂

          • It is just nice to be able to see the real you SIG I always prefer realism but of course I know that some network users like to remain somewhat anonymous, after all I don’t go by the name of Androgoth away from the computer but at least everyone knows me as Androgoth across the blogosphere and that is the main thing 🙂

            Have fun today SIG and I like both 1 & 2 of this series as they are equally well portrayed and incredibly arty 🙂

            Androgoth

          • I can definitely understand that, Andro… it’s an interesting question… where the line between those two worlds is. I think most people have found their own comfort level with that (which is the best place to be, of course)! I on the other hand (and as usual) have no clue, so I just make it all up as I go along! Probably not the best way to operate!
            Thank you so much for your great kindness and encouragement, as always, my friend!
            🙂

  2. This has a “Something Wicked This Way Comes” feeling to it, in my opinion. Interesting how the colors used on your portrait seem more menacing to me. I would have thought the copper used in Annabelle’s to have more of that kind of effect.
    Very cool.

    • I definitely see what you mean, Ms. D! Although to tell you the truth it just kind of worked-out that way. It’s also kind of fitting in that Annabelle is a red-head and I’m… you know… old.
      🙂

  3. For Christmas I took a huge leap and went old school after stumbling upon a neat set of charcoal pencils and then another set of watercolor pencils and ended up creating a gift of several sets of drawing pencils and a couple of sketchbooks for my son, who is now uber-techy.

    I remember all the notebooks he filled with drawings as a child and I was concerned that the gift was more for me clinging to his childhood than for him going back to doing something he seemed to love. The look on his face when he opened them was my Christmas gift.

    It seemed to say, “Oh, that’s right. You’re the one who knows me.” I hope he is as generous in sharing his creativity as you are. I enjoy everything you post. P.S. I’ll bet you have a groovy dvd collection. 🙂

    • That sounds like a wonderful gift, H.C! My wife loves watercolor pencils (and she is very good with them)! I’ve always been so impressed by people who can work with watercolor… they create such ‘delicate’ things… I never seem to be able to control the water, though. Maybe some day! Anyway, it sounds like that present was a hit! Maybe your son will create something for you as a thank you?!
      I did just expand my collection quite a bit… our library had quite a few movies on their sale table the last time I went to check some out (50 cents for a movie… how can you pass that up?)!
      🙂

    • Long story longer (it’s basically using a ‘glue’ to ‘suck’ pigment/toner out of a laser print)… so for this one I scanned in my drawing, smeared gel medium on it (glue-ish) and then ‘broke-down’ / removed the paper by rubbing on it with a damp sponge. All you ever wanted to know… and more!
      Thank you very much, Peg!
      🙂

  4. SIG, I love these. Aluminum and Copper. So clever with such intricate design. I see many layers here. Another work of art, SIG!!! I bet they look nice side by side. I like that movie, too. That writer is top notch.

    • You are always so kind, B.F! Thank you! Very much!
      I like it that movie quite a bit, too… it’s funny… the characters remind me a bit of of me and my wife (er, it’s kind of like the characters are caricatures of our personalities… in a way).
      🙂

    • Thanks, Binky! They’re some of my favorites to work on, too… because I get to work with so many different things (and I usually wind up trying out a few things I’ve been curious about, too… which is always fun)!
      Hahaha… sounds like I’ve got quite a way to go yet!
      🙂

  5. Hello Mr. Inky…Day 5 of the new year….I hope yours is going great, so far. This is a cool piece of artwork. Here’s to a productive artistic new year! 😀

  6. SiG, I’m stumped! I don’t know what to say . . . . The periodic table was never as interesting when I tried, and failed, to learn it but you, with such handsome features and incredibly nifty artwork, give it such a good name!

  7. Yes I always knew that from behing that profile image of yours
    there was a, now how shall I put this without seeming girly and
    strange? 🙂 Oh sod it… Add your mug to your profile picture you
    are almost as handsome as me 🙂 lmfao

    This is and absolutely sterling effort on your creative artistry
    SIG but then all of your workhas that genius my great friend 🙂

    Enjoy a brilliant rest of the weekend 🙂

    Androgoth

    • Hahaha… very kind of you to say, my friend… although we’ll wait and see how much of my readers have been scared away after catching a glimpse of this post… that guy looks a bit like some of the scary creatures that only you have the talent to describe Andro!
      Hard to believe another weekend has already come and gone… I hope yours was a truly excellent one A.G!
      🙂

      • I think everyone concerned will be itching to get you adding a real image after this fine example of your work, of course whatever you decide is fine by me but it is a real privilege to have seen you my great friend. Ahhhh yes the weekend has flown but Monday will be long and full of ghouls 🙂 lmao

        Have a wicked one today SIG 🙂

        Androgoth

        • I thank you once again for your great kindness, Andro… it is very much appreciated, sir!
          Hahaha…absolutely! Monday is always a little ghoulish, isn’t it?! And I hope you have a very good one!
          🙂

  8. Well done! I do hope these are hanging proudly in your domain!!

    “If you’ll be my bodyguard
    I can be your long lost pal
    I can call you Betty
    And Betty when you call me
    You can call me Al”
    ~Paul Simon

    Couldn’t resist! 🙂

Leave a Reply

