Peacock Feather

peacock_feather

No peacocks were harmed or in any way mistreated during the production of this photograph. No word as of yet regarding their opinion of extremely shallow depth of field, though.

Brendan: “Here are the peacock feathers plus some instructions from the guru… what’s in that box?”

Francis Whitman: “We bought a snake.”

Brendan: “Its got a skull and crossbones on it…”

– Wallace Wolodarsky & Owen Wilson – The Darjeeling Unlimited

About this image: digital photograph (Canon 300D) lightly modified in Adobe Photoshop

78 thoughts on “Peacock Feather

  1. The colouring on these feathers are rather
    exquisite my great friend and I really like the
    concept of this piece of artistry πŸ™‚

    Brilliant as always SIG
    Have a really wicked Monday πŸ™‚

    Androgoth

    • Why thank you, Andro! It was interesting how much the colors changed by turning it the smallest amount in different kinds of light… maybe too interesting (I took so many photos it took me an hour just to choose one)!
      Thank you so much, sir! I hope your Monday goes as well one possibly can!
      πŸ™‚

      • I think it is the same with a lot of artists, always trying to choose the most perfect of specimens πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        You did very well with
        your choosing though πŸ™‚

        Androgoth

        • If that’s the biggest of my complaints I guess I don’t have much to complain about!
          The more I think about it the more I realize it’s nice to have those choices (even if it takes me a while to decide)!
          πŸ™‚

          • On my drawings it is the opposite,
            I do one sketch and then crudely
            add some colouring, then hit the
            publish πŸ™‚ If I thought about doing
            another one all of them would be
            in the bin πŸ™‚ lmao

            I wonder if the great
            Michael Angelo had
            those days πŸ™‚ lol

            Androgoth

          • I know I feel that way all the time, Andro! I think we all do… or I like to think that, anyway.
            I like to think about that very same thing some days… well, most days, really. I image that he had his frustration(s), too… although it goes without saying that if I had a million years to practice I’d still be thrilled to re-produce half of what he’d probably consider bin-worthy!
            πŸ™‚

          • Yes and what a shame that such a fine and indeed brilliant artist of his time and beyond was destined to be poor for the most of his life, I guess that fame and fortune is not always so clearly defined.

            Have a wonderful rest of evening SIG πŸ™‚

            Androgoth

          • Indeed… I wonder what he would think if he knew how popular his work was (and how many people admire it) so many years later?!
            I hope you are having a great one, A.G!
            πŸ™‚

  2. Ah, another humorous reminder from God that He has His pretty eye on us, in case the one in outer space scares us half to death. I nearly laughed at the quote — I had to deal with newborn granddaughter’s leopard print bassinette skirt, and the zebra striped mobile over her head because her mom made both for her and was thrilled with how they came out — but Dad’s black satanic/poison heavy metal handkerchief tacked up on a near wall? Well, that took a walk around the corner. (How’d anyone become enamored of the deathly-ugly??) Anyway, what a lovely thing to peek in on this morn, SIG! I think I’ll make it my computer wallpaper, if you don’t mind!

    • Hahaha… you know, the funny part about this whole thing is I usually prefer a nice, soft neutral color.
      Not that I don’t appreciate some bold color(s) patterns every now and then… I don’t know if I’d want to look at them all day every day… but to each their own, I guess (I’m sure many people would find my walls pretty boring)!
      Absolutely! It’s fairly low-resolution so it will probably start to get pixellated if it’s made much bigger… but feel free!

  3. Peacock feathers are so beautiful because of the iridescence of the feathers. You’ve captured that perfectly!
    Now I hope you don’t have to capture the peacock himself. I hear they are not the friendliest of fellows. πŸ™‚

    • I always forget the extent of that! Pretty wild how the dramatic change(s) the slightest turn or different ‘color’ of light make!
      Hahaha… fortunately this feather was found sans-peacock… I’m sure I’d still have bruises otherwise!
      πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, B.F! We have some peacocks at the zoo here… and once we saw one running around our neighborhood! Which was very strange… not the sort of thing we normally see here!
      πŸ™‚

    • Hahaha… well, thank you, U.M!
      Just more available / window light… and a random picture frame wrapped in a dark hoodie… and a dark couch cushion… and… other… random… stuff.
      πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, Madame!
      I pushed the reds a bit (it was originally a bit ‘greener’), but really, it’s pretty close to in-camera (for me, anyway). It was wild how much changing light affected the colors!
      πŸ™‚

  4. lovely !

    i would imagine peacocks are plumage-vain & enjoy shallow depth of field. kinda like actresses and “soft focus” ~ as a kid i recall hearing that sybil shepard insisted on it during shooting “moonlighting”… oh but i ramble heh heh

  5. Beautiful. πŸ™‚
    You don’t fool me. That is a high res shot of the Area 51 space portal. The coded movie message is so obvious ( as he adjusts his tin foil hat). πŸ˜€

  6. Spectacular colors Bob. I think the shallow depth of field focuses the mind as well as the eye. There’s almost a halucinatory effect to the image πŸ™‚ …Now where did I put my Whacky Baccy πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

