Scenic Limited

Scenic Limited Β© Robert Jay Matejcek

I kinda liked the lines… particularly the bridge’s cast-shadow (would’ve been nice to catch a train passing by, though). Have a great weekend, everyone!

Jack Whitman (after being thrown off a train): “Wouldn’t it be great if we heard a train go by in the distance?”

Peter Whitman: “Not really.”

Francis Whitman: “It’d probably be annoying.”

Jason Schwartzman, Adrien Brody & Owen Wilson – The Darjeeling Limited

About this image:Β digital photograph taken and modified with smart phone

55 thoughts on “Scenic Limited

  1. I enjoy all the lines too, Robert. I can understand the appeal. I like how the lines are juxtaposed with the soft leaves of the trees. Not to mention the shadows. Nice! You don’t even need the train.

    • Thank you very much, Amy! I considered mentioning something about the contrast between those edges / types of shadows, too (but the way my mind ‘works’ I was already distracted with trying to think of some train-related quote)! Wait… what was I doing again?!
      πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, S.E! I love old bridges like this… and when I’m lucky enough to come across one with interesting logos / etc. I’m twice as happy! Of course, if there had been a train, too…
      πŸ™‚

  2. Yes I can just make that lettering out on this one
    my great friend and I agree the lines make it an interesting
    subject for photography or indeed a painting platform πŸ™‚

    I too would have enjoyed seeing the train but hey your work
    needs no extras SIG, it has quality in its own right πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Wicked

    Andro

  3. This one brings back childhood memories for me…so thank you for that, Sig. I remember how I use to love to play on the railroad tracks, which I use to catch heck for, but…well, I guess I didn’t always to as told.
    The shadow from the tree give the image a warmer feel. Needless to say, I like this one a lot, Sig!
    More of these!
    xxx

    • I’m very happy to hear this one brought back happy memories for you, Deb! Thank you!
      I remember (for a while – when I lived by them) I used to love to play by railroad tracks, too! There was always cool stuff to find… and sometimes even trains, too!
      πŸ™‚

  4. I trust after you took this photo that you brought out the can of spray paint and put up your gang logo underneath that bridge. πŸ™‚

  5. I like the lines of the railing. It looks all rusty. Like something you might need a tetanus shot for. πŸ™‚
    I also like the Scenic carved into the concrete. Very cool.

    • Absolutely! Rust makes for some fun photographing, but once your jaw starts to lock up, well… that’s a bit of a drag.
      I liked that, too, Ms. C! I’m kinda fond of old signage and such!
      πŸ™‚

  6. Haunting shot. There’s a bridge I walk under often and the buttressed supports go off into the distance in telescoping fashion, like the nave of a decaying, monolithic cathedral. I keep taking pictures with my cell phone but I can’t capture the feel of it. It takes true artistry to convey emotion and feeling in 2 dimensions, like you do.

    • That sounds like an incredible structure, Peg! But you are far, far too kind… some places are just very challenging to convert from what you have in mind to what your camera sees. That happens to me ALL the time! I just have to remind myself that it’s okay to keep going back and trying different things (which is all part of the fun – the first dozen or so times, anyway).
      πŸ™‚

  7. You need to track down a copy of the Working Timetable Bob – then you’ll be able to predict when a Train is likely to pass.

    Engineering structures always make for fascinating patterns of light and shade and you’ve caught this bridge at the right tie to highlight that πŸ™‚ I found the park and read the writing on one of the bridges, but couldn’t work out which road you were on!

    • Agreed – that really seems like it would be the thing to do!
      And agreed, again! Old bridges and the like are so fascinating! They always make me thing about the people who designed them, and built them… and all those who have passed over them…
      Hahaha… you know what is sad… I suspect you have a better idea of where I was at then I do (seriously, it’s a miracle I’m able to find my way back home from across the street)!
      πŸ™‚

  8. i think a train may have blocked the view of the fresh green foliage. in any case the mood would have been quite different, and while you would have had an added element of action. at the same time, it may have taken away from the bridge, and the peaceful moment that is conveyed here.
     
    so even without the train, i think it is a great capture. thanks for sharing.

  9. Good shot! I like the angle! I have to confess that I have a slight bridge phobia…not looking at them, just getting on one. Emphasis on the word “slight.” I didn’t want you to think I’m the kind of person of person who will travel miles out of my way to avoid one πŸ˜€ You have a good weekend too!!!

    • Why, thank you, Mary!
      Hmmm… I’m a bit that way sometimes, too. Particularly on long bridges that are very high up and / or span a body of water! Luckily this one didn’t really fall into any of those categories – so I was feeling okay about it all.
      Thank you again, Mary! I hope you are having a good one!
      πŸ™‚

  10. Love the angles, layering and colouring – the pastel blue and green combination is so pretty! Do you object to the term “pretty?” – I mean it in the best possible way, honestly!

    • Hmm… to tell you the truth I can’t quite remember (my memory is… well, it’s… wait… what?). I think we were there from mid morning to some time in the afternoon, though – I suspect you are right about that though, Madame!
      πŸ™‚

  11. i am just calling in to have another look at this one
    SIG and to wish you a wonderful rest of weekend my
    great friend πŸ™‚ I am of course looking forward to your
    next piece of awesomely fashioned art πŸ™‚

    Andro

    • Hahaha… my first apartment was in a renovated train freighthouse which was only a few feet away from an in-use line. Fortunately it seemed to see most of its use during the day, because as you say… you usually tend to notice when a train is that close to you.
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

