Empty

Guess who was too busy painting to do any photo editing again? Yup. This guy. The ‘painting’ is coming along, though (it should be posted next week). So… that’s something, right? Anyway, have a great weekend, everyone – cheers!

Dennis Reynolds: “Oh, you put wine in the soda can?”

Sweet Dee Reynolds: “You didn’t know, did you?”

Dennis Reynolds: “That’s good!”

Charlie Kelly: “Ahhh… you stole Frank’s idea!”

Sweet Dee Reynolds: “Yeah, yeah, yeah.”

Charlie Kelly: “Well, it’s a good idea.”

Sweet Dee Reynolds: “It actually is a pretty good one.”

Charlie Kelly: “I mean, the guys got great ideas…”

– Glenn Howerton, Kaitlin Olson & Rob McElhenney – It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia

About this image: digital image (flatbed scanner) lightly modified in Adobe Photoshop

82 thoughts on “Empty

    • Hahaha… why do you ask, S.E… do I seem a little twitchy today?
      *shake shake shake*
      Hmmm… you know… I honestly can’t remember what came in this can (not a good sign). I know it wasn’t Red Bull, though (believe it or not I’ve never tried it – am I missing out?).
      🙂

    • Thank you very much, sir!
      The simplicity is what interested me in trying this (which is why I tried to keep the color simple, too – only a slight cool tone)…
      I hope it’s not too simple… I can’t seem to decide.
      🙂

  1. I see the quality of your work has NOT declined over the summer! Beautiful, Inky. We spent the summer slurping back cases of seltzer (among other things..) and this brings back all the great memories. Love it! Best of luck w. your latest painting. Can’t wait to check it out.

    • Hahaha… perpetual decline over here, Dishy! Your kindness certainly has not declined, though (I’m not the least bit surprised by that, either)! It’s always a great feeling to hear someone has related a memory to a post… thank you so much! I was going for simple, but I’m afraid I might have gone overboard with that… if I wasn’t working with acrylic I could probably try to blame it on the paint fumes!
      🙂

  2. You certainly can present us something cool even when your busy. 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing the painting your working on too. 😉
    Have a great weekend, Sig! 🙂

    • I hope so Deb…
      I usually have to remind myself to simplify things a bit… but sometimes I think I take that too far.
      Thanks, Deb! I’ve been working on this one for some time, now (although you’d never guess that by looking at it)… it’s been getting more and more difficult to tear myself away from that project as the end is finally near-ish! I hope to have it ready for next Tuesday (or Thursday at the latest)! Fingers crossed!
      🙂

      • No need to hope…you accomplish it every time! 😉
        I’ll be looking forward to seeing it. You really got me wondering what it is now! 😉
        Have a great Wednesday! 🙂

    • Hey, J.G! Great to see you!!!
      That’s exactly what I was looking at when I decided to give this one a try! I’m so happy to hear that!
      Can’t complain, I guess – I hope you are doing well, too!!!
      🙂

  3. What else did they put wine in? Jelly jars?

    This is GORGEOUS. The lighting is insane. And it’s so effin’ sharp. I want to say I need a macro lens, but I’m pretty sure you don’t even have one; you just know how to use your shit.

    • Hahaha… I think that’s right! I’d guess a list of things these characters wouldn’t put wine in might be pretty short.
      Thanks so much, M.P… and you are right… I don’t have a macro lens (I do have a cheap diopter), but… um… I totally cheated on this one. Pretty much just a straight flat-bed scan. Although (if it makes you feel any better) I did spend a ridiculous amount of time dodging/burning this… (the way the light was bouncing off that aluminum was pretty bizarre in places).
      🙂

  4. Did you drink it? Did you? Now, what was in it? Sorry, I’ve been absent this week, so I missed your lovely designs until now. This is a very sharp image. I feel like I could just reach into my computer screen and just grab it. Of course, I wouldn’t, because, you know, it’s empty! Well done, SIG.

    • Hahaha… you know I’m embarrassed to admit I did… because for the life of me I can’t remember what was in this thing (this one has been in my ‘buffer’ for a while now – so that’s… all I have for an excuse)!
      Not at all! I just thank you for your great kindness, B.F! I sincerely appreciate it, as always!
      🙂

  5. I can see that this can has been given
    some TLC, well it was the least that you
    could do after emptying the contents, I
    wonder how many cans you had before
    you found the correct specimen? 🙂 lol

    I really like this piece of art SIG and as
    always you have presented it so wickedly 🙂

    Have a superb weekend my great friend 🙂

    Andro

    • Hahaha… a very good call, A.G! I didn’t want to brag… but these things do require a lot of research. Quality control was a primary concern, of course! I spared no effort ensuring I had found the can that ‘spoke to me’!
      Thanks so much, my friend! I hope you have a fantastic weekend as well!
      🙂

  6. Excellent detail and lighting 🙂 I’m amazed that some of the light has even found its way down to the bottom of the can. Well done on achieving the near impossible – absolutely square on with the subject!

    Now what, may I ask, was hiding inside that full metal jacket? 😉

    • Now is the part of the show where I have to disavow any / all credit… I totally cheated on this one (flat-bed scanner as camera here)! Although… I did spend a truly ridiculous amount of time dodging / burning this thing (if that helps my credibility at all)! The way the light was bouncing off (and in some places not) the aluminum was a bit bizarre (go figure, right?)!
      The embarrassment continues – I honestly can’t seem to remember what had been hiding in this can (even though I was the consumer). Hahaha this is surly not a good sign, Martin!
      🙂

      • That’s just another example of using a photographic tool 🙂 You’ll get no sympathy from me for the amount of extra Dodgery that you had to put in 😉

        Can’t have been a decent pint if you can’t remember what it was – probably Duff beer 😉 I was enjoying a lovely couple of glasses of Taylor’s Landlord at the footie on Saturday 🙂

        • Scanner as camera… doesn’t always work… so why not take advantage every now and then, right?!
          Hahaha… I guess that was a pretty ‘Dodgy’ attempt at getting sympathy, huh?! 😉
          Hahaha… D’-oh! That might just explain it! That certainly sounds elegant, Martin… probably not even brewed in a bathtub!!!
          😉

  7. Wow that is excellent Robert. I am always amazed at your ability to photograph something so simple yet it always looks so effective & artistic. If I took that photo it would look like a lousy holiday snap of a can

    • That is so kind of you to say, Tony… thank you!
      Sometimes it’s just a matter of realizing I need something to work on an ransacking the apartment in a bit of a freak-out!
      I’m sure you could have handled this one just fine, though, Tony! You are far too modest!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

