Slow Burn

I totally ripped off was inspired to try the above after looking at a photo on my utility bill. Full disclosure. But the check for all that gas consumption is in the mail, so I’m sure that helps. Have a great weekend, everyone!

Harry (checking who has knocked on the door): “There’s two of ’em… one of ’ems got a gun!”

Lloyd: “Did you pay the gas bill?

Harry: “shhhaaaaaahh…”

Lloyd: “Do ya realize what you’ve done?!”

Harry: “Sorry. I say we bail!”

Lloyd: “Um-kay.”

Jeff Daniels & Jim Carrey – Dumb & Dumber

About this image: digital photograph (Canon 300D) lightly modifiedΒ  in Adobe Photoshop

66 thoughts on “Slow Burn

    • I’m very happy to hear that, S.E… thank you so much!
      I was kind of happy with the colors… which was nice… because the more I look at the previous post the more I’m disappointed with how it turned out (I wish I would have waited, gone back and re-shot that one… oh well).
      πŸ™‚

  1. Cool, SIG! I love the colors. I’m glad your gas is good for something, I mean that you inspired you to create this. I can’t say a bill has ever done that for me. Usually, they just make me want to cry!

    • Thanks so much, B.F! I was kinda happy with the colors, too (for a change).
      In the spring/summer months my gas bill isn’t too scary… but the heat in our apartment is gas… so I’m starting to get a bit teary-eyed myself!
      πŸ™‚

  2. That burner is a thing of beauty. Seriously! Up here in the wilds of Maine gas stoves are rare, and I miss mine often. There is something to be said for 4 to 6 burners of pure natural gas burning bliss.

    • The sad part is I don’t even know the first thing to do with it, Dishy! If I’m having a good day I might be able to boil some water, but that’s about the extent of things… which is a real shame (especially considering the culinary magic you create, Dishy)!
      πŸ™‚

    • Hahaha…
      well, it’s a fairly convoluted story, but basically they are actually hitmen who Harry and Lloyd confuse as being gas guys.
      Thanks so much, Mr. M! You are very kind to say that, sir!
      πŸ™‚

  3. Love the colors you’ve captured. I have to set something afire to get such an effect on my electric stove. I don’t think I’ll try this one, but if the situation presents itself, I’ll grab the camera first, then the extinguisher. Yeah, right.

    • Thanks so much, Patti!
      Hahaha… it’s always a good idea to have a fire extinguisher handy when I’m ‘cooking’!
      Really, if it doesn’t slide out of a can or fit into a microwave I’m in a world of, ‘Huh?’!
      πŸ™‚

  4. Very cool. We have an electric stove, which I’m guessing would not look as neat. I wouldn’t know though – I rarely use it. πŸ™‚
    Grant Goodeve from Eight is Enough is in a commercial for a gas provider here in GA. Grant makes me swoon. This picture reminds me of Grant, so your picture makes me swoon. Thank you. πŸ™‚

    • About all I use the stove for is boiling water… and to tell you the truth, that’s a real challenge for me at times, Ms. D (a sad state of affairs, let me tell you)! πŸ™‚
      Hahaha… well, I’m so happy to hear that! I do what I can, you know! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much, sir!
      There is something almost mesmerizing about fire, isn’t there?! At least when it’s under control… had I been ‘cooking’ at the time this photo would have been a fairly horrifying sight!
      πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much, Ms. K!
      I have to admit I was kind of happy with the colors here. And that’s got to be a first for me (being happy with something I’ve produced in the kitchen)!
      πŸ™‚

  5. I know what you mean about the utility bills
    as they are getting extremely expensive, as
    is everything else 😦 I guess the rich folks of
    this world never even think about how much
    a bill will be and so any kind of recession is
    overlooked, mainly because of their wealth 😦

    Politicians have no concept of struggling…

    Your vision towards art is always refreshing
    and this one is excellent my great friend πŸ™‚ :)}

    Have a superb weekend SIG πŸ™‚

    Androgoth

    • True enough, A.G…
      it doesn’t seem like there are many things that are getting less expensive these days! Oh well… such is life, I guess!
      Many thanks to you for your great kindness as always, Andro! Hard to believe the weekend is almost over already… I hope it has treated you well my friend!
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

