Permeable Area (and Bearman Cartoons Charity Challenge 2013)

Permeable Area © Robert Jay Matejcek

Today’s post is a vague reference to cartooning legend Bearman’s green-haired avatar… and his annual charity challenge! If you haven’t already, please click here to find out how Bearman is once again donating his very own green to some great charities including: The Cincinnati FreeStore Foodbank,  The Brandon C Gromada Head and Neck Cancer Foundation and Crayons to Computers. It’s a good deal from a good dude.

About this image: digital photograph taken and modified with smart phone (minimally edited in iPhoto)

44 thoughts on “Permeable Area (and Bearman Cartoons Charity Challenge 2013)

  1. How cool, Robert. I’ve never heard of Bearman, so thanks for the introduction! What a great endeavor. I’d like to help him out. These trees/bushes? remind me of cartoons where they hide behind it and move along, stop when someone suspects…Is it something like that?

    • Wonderful! Yes, he’s a very entertaining guy! He is one of the first people I met when I was working on my webcomics (quite a few years ago already)… and he was good enough to stick with me even though I completely changed formats, etc. He does a lot of pop-culture / social commentary. He’s very entertaining – and talented – and generous, too!
      Hahaha… maybe so, Amy! I hadn’t thought of that! I hope I didn’t wind-up scaring any hidden cartoon characters!
      🙂

  2. Hey if he had blue hair we could
    have likened him to Marge Simpson,
    but what a scream this one is SIG 🙂

    Just brilliant 🙂 🙂
    Enjoy your day my great friend 🙂

    Andro

    • Why, thank you! I’m sorry, Marry – I should have written the post a bit better, but he is actually making the donations himself (in exchange for people following him on G+, or blogging about the challenge, etc.)… I think he’s already pledged over a thousand dollars so far – pretty cool, isn’t it?! 🙂

  3. ” Now Mam, all you have to do is identify the shrub that jumped out at you from this line-up. Just take your time.” scene from “The Usual Garden variety Suspects – The Landscaper’s Cut “

    • Hahaha… *dun dun dun dun – snap snap*
      Absolutely! He’s an incredibly generous dude – and I know he will appreciate your stopping by very much, Ms. K! Thank you!
      🙂

Leave a comment