Four Kings

I’m still indecisive… which explains the 4-styles-o-Elvis. In the end, I might prefer them combined. Besides, 4 kings can be a difficult hand to beat.

Teddy ‘KGB’: “Lays down a monster… should have paid me off on that. The **** did you lay that down?” *throws tray of Oreos across room*

Mike McDermott: “Not Hungry?”

Teddy KGB: “Mr. Son of a *****, let’s play some cards!”

John Malkovich & Matt Damon – Rounders

About this image: charcoal drawing on Bristol Board, highly digitally modified

34 thoughts on “Four Kings

  1. That’s certainly 4 very different images you’ve created there… Very nicely done… Maybe you could try an Andy Warhol version too, although I’m not sure it would work quite so well with the “King” as it did with Marilyn Monroe..

  2. I like these. I think the upper-left is the most lifelike, but the upper-right is probably the most interesting.

    I also keep wanting to map these onto other things that there are four of. Seasons don’t really work, but working clockwise from the upper left, you can sort of get fire, earth, water, air.

    • Thank you very much for stopping by, Laura!
      I really appreciate your input – I keep changing my mind about this!

      That’s a very interesting way of looking at it! I hadn’t quite thought about it like that…
      πŸ™‚

  3. You have a way with charcoal, amazing drawing. Warhol did some Elvis silkscreens, but you probably know that already. I like the four shots as a grouping.

    • Thanks very much, Mr. J – that’s very kind of you to say!

      Initially I hadn’t thought of combining these into one piece, but I’ve been leaning that way for a while now…
      πŸ™‚

  4. Glad you didn’t use fat Elvis πŸ™‚

    A few years back I went to a Lisa Marie Presley concert (I was given the tickets)and the audience was full of Elvis fans. When she came on stage and people began clapping she said “thank you very much” and everyone burst out laughing. It kinda went down hill from there, when they realized she didn’t sing like her daddy.

  5. Such a beautiful drawing, Inky! You are so good. Elvis was such a handsome fella, wasn’t he? A truly exceptional man in his youth. The sequined jumpsuits are where I draw the line. As for your drawings, I like the lower left one best.

    • Thank you so much for the kind words (as always), Dishy – I appreciate it very much!

      The left-hand column seems to be grabbing the most votes so far…

      I hardly every wear my sequined jumpsuits anymore (special occasions only, really). πŸ™‚

  6. The one on the lower left is the real Elvis… the other three are just impersonators, right? πŸ˜‰

  7. Hi ink guy…I love them all πŸ˜€ I can’t decide between the upper left and the lower right as my favorite. I know why you were indecisive and I’m glad you decided to share them all…can’t have too many “kings.”

  8. Oooh look! A pompadour! (She said, sounding suddenly all knowledgeable)!

    This is a great drawing to begin with and I’m going to be greedy and say that I like all four treatments. If you twisted my arm I’d say bottom left but really, as a montage of four I think they work well. Very Andy Warhol in style.

    • Hahaha… why, thank you for noticing, Madame de Pompadour!
      You are very kind, Jayne! To be honest, I just couldn’t bring myself to decide, so I kept them together like this. But I’ll tell everyone I meant to do that all along. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

