Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountains

I like to manipulate photos. A lot. But here’s the thing: I’m forced to edit about 90% of my nature stuff to death. Like this previous mountain post. It’s a futile attempt to compete with the real thing (or even ballpark the feeling of actually ‘being there’). There’s just no quit in nature’s insistence to be the star of the show. Blah. This is supposed to be all about me, you know.

Chuckie: “Just submit, Morgan. He’s got you in the Cobra Clutch…”

– Ben Affleck – Good Will Hunting

About this image: digital photograph, moderately modified

56 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountains

  1. Ooo so pretty! And bonus! This was taken by our rock AND the marmot hotel. Remember, we went to Dunraven Inn restaurant first for a nice dinner, then to the park to watch the sunset… it was our last official date before we were married! We climbed up on that big boulder and I got bird poop on my Beatles shirt. πŸ˜› Awww it was romantic. πŸ™‚

    P.S. Nice marmot.

  2. I knew you would come up with something superb, and you did not disappoint. Great effect. And Annabelle’s “rest of the story” was a nice touch, too. Nice to meet you, Annabelle! πŸ™‚

  3. What a lovely view to see first thing in the morning. Really beautiful. I can smell the air, too. Lovely.
    My only suggestion, include a marmot next time. With Annabelle’s back-story, it seems marmots need to be represented. (smile)

    • It was a really cool…
      the sort of thing I really struggle to represent with a photo…
      a wonderful place to spend some time just relaxing.
      Hahaha… now THAT’S an idea, Ms. D! *squeak squeak*
      Hmm… do marmots squeak? It seems like they might…
      πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, U.M… I hope so. I’m not always convinced with this landscape stuff. Seems like it could use a little more work… hmm.. now where did I leave that sock full-o-batteries?!
      πŸ™‚

  4. A good picture with good manipulation and soo much love…i’m so glad I stopped by, I cnt help the smile its got to my face!!bless the romance ans the happy couple πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, Kamakshi! With so many choices on which way to push an image, I’m never really sure I’ve gone down the right path, so it was very nice to hear you liked this one!
      I’m glad you stopped by as well – your kind comment has put a smile on my face as well! πŸ™‚

  5. I know what you’re referring to…it’s kind of like trying to relay the actual beauty of being there? That’s something that is really difficult to capture on camera, especially with mountains and landscapes. Just my opinion. But the editing looks good! This place looks so beautiful and happy, and I love the stream in the foreground.

    Halie

    • Absolutely, PFB… I completely agree with that description… you’ve said it very well!
      I’m very happy to hear this one turned out okay… landscapes are a huge challenge for me, so your kind comment was very much appreciated! Thanks you so much for stopping by!
      πŸ™‚

  6. I like the picture. The planes look harsh but the creek looks like an inviting place to cool down after a long hike. Mountains always make for a great horizon, and the sun glare is a nice effect. I bet that water is nice and cold.

    • Thanks so much for visiting! And for your kind words as well!
      I’m not a huge outdoors type (which might explain part of my difficulty with landscape shots), but as I recall it really was an amazing place to walk around and just spend some time relaxing. It seems like the water was very cold, too… in a good way… but it would be very difficult to forget part/feeling!
      πŸ™‚

  7. You are the master of your own media Grasshopper. The nature you reveal to us comes through the lens of your perception. Well done. ( You may now walk off barefoot into the horizon as music gently plays.)

    • Indeed… everything you see here I’m responsible for… (although I’d like to take more credit for some things than others)!
      Thank you very much, Ms. B – you are very kind, and I really appreciate the visit!
      πŸ™‚

  8. i agree. it is SO HARD to capture nature even slightly as beautiful as it really is. but, the editing helps I think. it adds feeling and moodiness, and even if it doesn’t resemble what you saw, it still looks amazing. I personally love this!

    • *whew*
      I’m a bit relieved to hear I’m not alone in that feeling…
      trying stuff like this reminds me how talented that Ansel dude was!
      Thank you very much, B.D. – you are too kind!
      πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, S.E…
      I’ve only seen mountains once, but they were pretty spectacular… which is why I’m often disappointed with my photos from that trip. My images just don’t seem to convey the majesty of that place.
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

